Ironing Out the Wrinkles of Life In a Wash and Wear World

Words spoken yesterday can be interpreted differently today. Some messages are timeless, especially as life gets faster, literally technologically faster, the message to slow down, if not to smell the roses, then at least to notice the fine intricate workings of the fabric.

bridgesburning

മലയാളം: Charcoal Iron Box for ironing the clothes മലയാളം: Charcoal Iron Box for ironing the clothes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ironing Out the Wrinkles of Life In a Wash and Wear World

I did something today I have not done for years.  I ironed.  Most people I know stopped ironing clothes when wash and wear made our lives easier, although I am not sure where the easier comes in as we have a tendency to fill the time with some other activity and the general pace of life itself has been accelerated so that it occurs to me that ironing in some way might just slow it down.

Now there are still lots of daily and weekly ironers out there.  In fact my cousin in Scotland and her peeps do it all the time.  My SIL here in Canada still irons.

I had the ironing board out to finish off a project when it occurred to me that I…

View original post 374 more words

7 thoughts on “Ironing Out the Wrinkles of Life In a Wash and Wear World”

  1. Thanks a lot for this purest amongst wisdom: Words spoken yesterday can be interpreted differently today. Some messages are timeless, especially as life gets faster, literally technologically faster, the message to slow down, if not to smell the roses, then at least to notice the fine intricate workings of the fabric.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

