No one’s life is perfect. No one life is perfect.

You know me and how much I love those early mornings between wake and sleep when wisdom visits me for such a short time.  Once I stir so much as a finger the thought dissipates like a fart in the wind. (Sorry I can think of no quicker dissipation to compare it to).  Except for this one occasion it seems to be the only time actual purity  and brilliance present themselves to me.

waking-clipart-1089357-Clipart-Boy-Waking-In-The-Morning-Royalty-Free-Vector-Illustration

This morning’s thought was accompanied by a wave of compassion.  I like those  best.  I am pretty sure the thought was clearly, ‘No one’s life is perfect. Be Compassionate’.  But then I got waylaid wondering if the thought should have been or actually was, ‘No one life is perfect.’

What a silly self argument.  Is there really a difference?  I suppose the second statement might indicate that if No ONE life is perfect there may exist perfection in more than one life. Good grief Chris, (I say to myself), STOP already.

The point is that the immediate thought brought a feeling I can only describe as compassion and warmth.  Now again I had to ask myself why is this pertinent?

It didn’t take long to see how we misrepresent our lives on social media AND how much we as the public buy into it.  Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, and many many more, all smiles, all perfection, all joy.

Now please don’t think for one moment I believe people should post THE TRUTH.  No chance in hell.  There is sufficient whining, sniveling, and pain driven expression in this world.  Much of it is educational and needs to be out there. But no one needs to know every worry and angst I have.  My point is that perfect joy and perfect families and perfect whatever looks nice for the moment and the cycle of life means there is no static perfection.  There is a time for everything under heaven…oops a song is coming on…

from They Byrds which came out in 1965

The Byrds – Turn! Turn! Turn! Lyrics

To everything, turn, turn, turn.
There is a season, turn, turn, turn.
And a time to every purpose under heaven.
A time to be born, a time to die.
A time to plant, a time to reap.
A time to kill, a time to heal.
A time to laugh, a time to weep.To everything, turn, turn, turn.
There is a season, turn, turn, turn.
And a time to every purpose under heaven.
A time to build up, a time to break down.
A time to dance, a time to mourn.
A time to cast away stones.
A time to gather stones together.

To everything, turn, turn, turn.
There is a season, turn, turn, turn.
And a time to every purpose under heaven.
A time of love, a time of hate.
A time of war, a time of peace.
A time you may embrace.
A time to refrain from embracing.

To everything, turn, turn, turn.
There is a season, turn, turn, turn.
And a time to every purpose under heaven.
A time to gain, a time to lose.

Yes millennials there was a 1965, and wisdom in music, and a time for everything.
I don’t mean to imply that every youth believes everyone is happy, is photo touch up perfect but there are enough people who take what they see as fact and this leads to a whole bunch of feelings; of inadequacy about ‘why isn’t my life perfect, why I can post the same kind of photos but they aren’t true to my life so I feel like an impostor, a liar.  People are buying into big lies about perfection that make the olden days concerns about young girls feeling inadequate in comparing themselves to magazine models.
Trump may be master of ‘alternative facts’, but social media has taken alternative facts about our very selves and created a falsehood about who we actually are, who we appear to be and who we think everyone else is.
We need to give ourselves a universal head shake, because our reality is what we make it and oh my there is a public force out there making us believe a new reality based on inadequacy.
OH! Back to the original point.  Be compassionate with others.  You have no idea the crosses……… A little kindness goes a long way.
22 thoughts on “No one’s life is perfect. No one life is perfect.”

  1. Excellent post. We are not a perfect society I don’t know one person that is. But, we can all let kindness and compassion take a front seat if we choose. There is an old Indian quote that I read almost every day, especially when I am feeling angry or upset. I will share it with you and your followers. Some may already have read it, for me, it works.

    “An old Cherokee told his grandson, “My son, there’s a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies & ego. The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy & truth. “The boy thought about this & asked, ‘Which wolf wins?'” The old Cherokee replied, “The one you feed”.

    Namaste ☺☺

  2. Don’t move in the mornings Chris, until you are certain these thoughts have not turned to farts.

    Why is it so difficult for us to grasp these things and KEEP them.

    I’ll try a little harder today.

  3. J > I wish I experienced in the waking moments the same as you do: all I get is OMG it’s Xxxxday and I’ve got to ………. I sweep the though aside and renew my resolve to take life one step at a time. Perhaps there’s the wisdom, after all!

  4. Don’t judge me too hard – but I’ve never been big on compassion and perfection I’ll never attain. Some will label me ironc,selfish inconsiderate and more but I don’t believe I am. I am realistic if not too honest with myself.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

