Petrichor

My sister, not of blood but if choice, who dwells in a land down under, NZ, wrote this, but her thoughts are mine, and after all, I love a rainy night,….and day and the smell of the earth after…way to go J.

I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

Another new word for me today.  You may know that I am a pluviophile – a lover of rain.

Pluviophile

I have written about walking in the rain several times in the past.  More particularly last year when the only independent way of getting around was to walk.

And today I found another new word Petrichor – the smell of the earth after the rain.

Wikipedia tells us “Petrichor (/ˈpɛtrkɔər/) is the earthy scent produced when rain falls on dry soil. The word is constructed from Greek πέτρα petra, meaning “stone”, and ἰχώρ īchōr, the fluid that flows in the veins of the gods in Greek mythology.”

I am sure you all know that smell.  It’s almost as if the earth is saying, OK time to wake up and start reproducing the flowers, trees, vegetables etc.  I love that smell and am…

View original post 133 more words

2 thoughts on “Petrichor”

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

