A Personal Post

Searching family of long ago I have come across some treasures. Most recently I completed a story about my great-grandmother. Doing some research on my father tonight this post from January 2013 showed up.

bridgesburning

World War II poster from Canada World War II poster from Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am not sure that anyone outside ‘the family’ would be interested in this particular post, so don’t feel bad if you pass it by.

Today when looking through some of my writings I came across copies of letters my father had sent to his mom in 1943, and one letter from his younger brother Dick to him.  My father enlisted in the army in 1941 when he was seventeen years old.  Not at all unusual for young fellas back then to enlist underage and to be accepted to go to war.   The Second World War was firmly entrenched and in its second year.  The government made enlisting sound exciting, patriotic and gosh darn it, the right thing to do.

A year later, August 6, 1942 my uncle Dick sent my Dad a letter to his training site in Niagara on…

View original post 528 more words

One thought on “A Personal Post”

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

