Permanent Press in the Dryer of Life

Are you in control of your life? Really can any of us be in control ever or is it an illusion? That we have control of anything I mean.

Everyday things come up and we deal. Sometimes events occur that are so huge all we can do is hang on and sometimes we are not even aware of hanging on. We just are. I am not sure how we survive sometimes, but survive we do.

Faith helps but it doesn’t necessarily spare us the pain. It does give us strength. I guess sometimes the pain is the only thing that lets us know we still exist.

I have been tumbling about my own dryer of life and it seems to be settling for a bit at least, but the pain I speak about is of loss. I have a friend who lives on the other side of the world whose loss has been extreme and while my pain is not hers, it hurts to think of her hurting and struggling.

I feel like she and I are surviving the tumble but not yet able to see what the future will bring. Neither of us has control but we are blessed by love and people who care about us.

I have another friend half way across the country who came within a hair’s breadth of the most terrible loss, that of a son. Fortunately that situation worked out okay but there were hours that seemed like days or years when it seemed the worst would occur.

We have no control except over our selves. We are being buffeted by the winds of change – now how cliché is that – and some have no idea what the next step will be. We can only wait. Breathe. And wait some more.

It seems to me that love is the answer. To love and to be loved is permanent press in the fabric of life.  Okay that last bit was a little in the extreme but you get the idea.

4 thoughts on “Permanent Press in the Dryer of Life”

  1. Yes my dear friend. A tumble dryer exactly describes how I am feeling at present. But both you and I will come out the other end. Probably not today or even next week, but we will both survive. Thanks for all the support. Judith XX

  2. You have tapped in to so much I have been trying to process in my head and heart Chris. I’m not a permanent press kind of person. Probably more OF a tumble dryer kind of person that feels like I’ve been hung out to dry. Control? Not so much.

    I hope your friends are doing okay.

    And I hope you are in a wonderful place. Literally and figuratively.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

