BFF

This modern term for Best Friends Forever is not one of my favorites. First of all it is so commonly used one gets a little weary from hearing it so much. Secondly it smacks a bit of desperation as though the declaration itself will make it true.  At least that is how it seems.  I must concede though that it is said to denote sincerity and a promise – sincere declaration.

In days gone by the term best friend, dear friend, soul mate, may have been used.

OBSERVATIONS

*Someone may be your best friend, but you may not be theirs and that is okay.  Unlike some commitments there is no reciprocation necessary.

*You can have more than one best friend I think which decries the use of the word best, but there it is.  In that case I guess the term would be ‘one of my best friends’.

*A best friend is someone you respect.

*A best friend is someone who can see the worst of you knows your darkest side and still love you and accept you.

*A best friend supports you even when you make stupid decisions.

*A best friend comforts you when the consequences of said stupid decision comes to roost and never, well almost never, says ‘I told you so”

*Distance has no effect on best friend status.  The world is a much smaller place now and thanks to Skype and other media contact is not far away.

*Long periods of time can pass but when the connection is made it is as if no time has passed at all.

When I met my best friend eighteen years ago we had engaged initially in a social conversation.  During that conversation I clearly heard the words in my mind; I want this girl in my life.  And she has been.  She travels the world. I do not.  She has a gypsy nature, I do not.  She is adventurous, I am not.  Lest this seem like a lot of ‘nots’, it is in truth of little consequence.  She is more thoughtful than I, and stronger and kinder. Perhaps that is our link.  She is the better person I strive to be.

I have no idea what makes a soul connection exist.  It just does.  It cannot be made or constructed, or planned.  It is something that exists or it does not.  Gender has no influence.  It is beyond our ken and a gift, that if we accept it, it can only enrich our existence regardless of extraneous factors.

My best friend’s birthday is on Saturday and I celebrate her life and give thanks.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MISSY!

6 thoughts on “BFF”

  1. thank you so much for the very truthful and understanding post. I have a VBF (very Best Friend) who is on Facebook and that is how we communicate..not often I will say. I have known her since she was 18 and she is now 65 so its a long while. Distance and time are no barrier..but friendship will last forever.
    My one other VBF I have known for over 35 years and again there is no awkward silence when we meet, we talk on FB, but again not often.
    True friendship is knowing that someone is always there for you

    I have some great friends on WordPress, like you…but we shall never meet but it nice to have you and them around and as part of my life

  2. I have a few best friends and they are very different to me, but they say opposites attract so perhaps that’s why we are besties! Gender doesn’t matter either, a friend is a friend and we are blessed to have those special ones.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

