I Am Finished Sleeping

Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi in the Star Wa...
Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi in the Star Wars prequel trilogy. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There is a certain purity that exists in each of us for a short time that occurs during our beginning years on this earth.  All the oohs and aahs, in response to precious first words and phrases tickle even the grumpiest grumps I think. Wrapped in innocence it amazes me that children move from gaga to actual words and once the verbalization process starts it increases exponentially and sure to amaze anyone who takes the time to notice.

I especially love the period of time before contraction development.  Sentences are spoken in purest phrases.

I am hungry.

I am finished sleeping.

Keetan is not my friend.

I want to go home.

My legs are tired.

I am Luke Skywalker and you are Obi Wan Kenobe, the young one, not the old one.

We look for purity in language, adding twists, descriptive tantalizing poetic bends, decorations with subtleties or profanities, catchwords, buzz words, all kinds of words.

And I cannot help but wonder how the world might change if for one day everyone found themselves speaking pure direct, cannot be misunderstood language.  Can you imagine what that would mean in politics, in business, in every aspect of our lives?

 

6 thoughts on “I Am Finished Sleeping”

  1. Great thought, Chris. Let’s campaign for a new law: “All politicians will hereby be allowed 100 words with which to make their point on any one presentation of any one particular subject.”

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

