A Face in the Crowd – Andy Griffith

I clicked on a show tonight more out of boredom than anything else.  1957 Andy Griffith, Patricia Neal and Walter Matthau in A Face in the Crowd.  All of them were very young of course and I never for a moment thought I would actually watch the whole movie.  Well once it started I could not stop – could not even take a bathroom break.  Griffith was about as far away from Mayberry as anyone could be.  A relative innocent, a rube whose music took him to the top and whose showmanship gave him power.  Big time power – until it consumed him.

As I watched I kept thinking of a line from the movie – something great – but there were so many good lines – exceptional lines from Griffith – from Neal – from Matthau.  I have no idea if this pic won any emmys or oscars way back then – did they even have awards then? = I am sure they must have.

This movie and his performance moved me intensely.  I will be thinking about it for a long time. Best writing.  Best performance.  Best everything.

If you want to see powerful – majestic – heart rendering and you get a chance to see it – well I sure would recommend it.  Whew!  Just had to tell you!  Magnificent!

 

13 thoughts on “A Face in the Crowd – Andy Griffith”

    1. p.s. – and I don’t usually like old movies either, but once in a while I’m blown away. I watched an old de Niro the other night and loved it…wish I had written down the **** name!

  1. Wow Chris – if that movie moved you so much, I will definitely look for it. I find that the old movies always have more of a storyline – something you can get involved in! Sounds like this is what happened to you! Thanks for telling us about it.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

