I miss Sundays…

I realize this is indeed Sunday but what I miss is what Sundays used to be like.  I also realize that probably more than half the population of the country have no idea what I am talking about.

The only thing open on Sundays was church.  No movies, no stores open.  When I thought of this today I found myself trying to remember what we did on those days.

It truly was a day of rest and was spent reading, visiting family or friends, and having Sunday evening dinner which for some reason always seemed special.  In those days the Baptist church was a big part of my life and so I attended both morning and evening services since I was in the choir.

Sunday evenings were for ‘The Ed Sullivan Show’, ‘Bonanza’, and I think ‘Father Knows Best’ came in there somewhere. Oh and I almost forgot about Walt Disney.  It was a nice family time.

Saturdays had their own excitement because that day all the work had to be done.  Cleaning, groceries and homework.  When Sunday morning arrived there was nothing to do except be and think.  We started Monday well rested.

Now I have tried to simulate no work, no shopping, no movies Sundays but it just doesn’t seem to work.  There always seems to be something that needs doing.  But I won’t give up on it.  I figure if I keep trying to make it a day of rest eventually I will succeed.

What were your Sundays like in the past?

18 thoughts on “I miss Sundays…”

  1. I seem to remember Sundays as being the day when there was no post delivered and my father’s relief that no junk mail would be arriving for one day out of seven! That’s sadly my only specific memory of it. 😉

    PS… if you’re interested, I have a new blog. 🙂

  2. “Sunday Night at the London Palladium, Les Dawson, and Morecombe and Wise” oh I remember those days too Miss Whiplash. But even more I remember when we first came to NZ in 1967. Nothing was open on Saturday or Sunday. Late night shopping until 10pm on Friday and only the corner shop open over the weekend. It really was a family time. But nowadays everybody is busy seven days a week. I can’t make Sunday a day of rest because of certain commitments, but I am trying to recapture Saturday. Thanks for this thought provoking post Chris. 🙂

  3. I don’t think I remember a time when everything was closed on Sundays. I suppose they may have been when I was quite small, but I don’t recall. There’s a lot to be said for a simpler way of life on the weekends.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    1. there sure is Kathy. we get so caught up in things day to day until all seven days are full. I think it would be lovely to have a whole day to just think. I wonder if that is even possible or if my poor brain would explode. Or worst yet what if I ran out of thoughts? oh boy

  4. I’ve not known a time when stores weren’t open on Sundays, but when I was a kid, we’d go to my grandmas for lunch. We’d always have friend bologna sandwiches and I loved them. That made our Sundays really special. I still think about those times.

    Now, for my own family, Sundays are kind of crazy. I always enjoy when I am able to have a slow Sunday and take an afternoon nap.
    ~FringeGirl

  5. Chris, I have been on a mission to simply stop on Sundays for several months now. I fell off the wagon for two weeks, due to unforeseen circumstances. Thankfully, yesterday I did nothing except enjoy a day of sabbath. Even if the dishwasher is full – I leave it for the next day. If clothes are in the dryer – they wait. Do we need milk? We’ll get it tomorrow.

    Growing up, Sundays were church, naps, dinner and Sixty Minutes (with my Dad). I loved Sundays. I still love Sundays.

    Don’t give up in your attempt to make it a day of rest, even if you have to work that much harder on Saturday.

  6. I think we should start a movement called “Rest Day” where one day a week we do nothing but that. Any demands on our time would be answered with, “sorry, this is my Rest Day.”

  7. Those were the days….. I can remember my Aunty Mary and Aunty Josie always came to visit on a Sunday and my Mother made fruit scones and a Victoria sponge…. Sunday Night at the London Palladium, Les Dawson, and Morecombe and Wise..really good comedy programmes suitable for the whole family..you don’t get that nowadays

  8. We didn’t do church. We weren’t very rich so didn’t spend a lot of money anyway. But other then the stores being closed Sunday was pretty much life every other day.

    One of the blessings of being a (semi) observant Jew is the Shabbat. I do try to disconnect from all things commercial. We drive, but only to shul and sometimes to visit our kids. We don’t spend money, we don’t watch television or listen to the radio, answer the phone, or use our computers. Well, I sometimes fail on the last one, and David answers the phone if it is one of the kids. It is definitely a day different and more peaceful than the rest of the week.

    As you know I do urge people to find a way to disconnect and unwind each week; but I also know how hard it is in a world that promotes busy, busy, buy, buy. I suspect without the support of the Jewish community, I would not disconnect as much as I do. I am grateful the Shabbat is part of my life.

    Kat

  9. Our Sundays were very similar to yours. Except if the weather was good Dad did do farm work as he followed the philosophy of “Make hay while the sun shines” One miissed sunny day opportunity could have meant financial ruin for a farmer. I too wish i could train myself to have a real “day of rest”.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

