Just What is all the Fuss with Handbags / Purses?

Purses perplex me.  I don’t mean those little portable pockets to hold change.123rf.comI mean bags, handbags or whatever other name may give them added value.  And valuable they are.  The most expensive one I found is this little treasure – Mouwads Handbag which sells for a nice 3.8 Million.

Mouawads Handbag

I am not sure what women see in handbags and here I am a woman so you think I would have been let in  on the secret.

When I did a little research I read articles that said the handbag for women really came into being as an accessory in the early 19th century.  Or maybe it was the late nineteenth century.  I must confess it really doesn’t interest me at all.

I guess it is because of my disinterest that I even wanted to blog on the subject.  I am sure there is a missing ‘girly gene’ because I just can’t get excited about handbags.  I can’t even garner up surprise or indignation that these objects can cost so much.  I did read some articles that said the handbag has existed in some form since early civilization, but again my disinterest may have caused me to read the information incorrectly.

One article started by saying that women cannot live without their purses.  It has occurred to me more than once that purses must have been an invention of early man.  That in some way it keeps women subservient.  This sure is not male bashing as I happen to adore men, but think about this.

A man strolls along moving both arms at his sides.  He is not burdened down by anything (except for those males who choose to use manbags), he is free to run, move about freely, he never has to worry about putting it down and forgetting it or having it stolen, – do you get where I am going with all this ‘free’ ‘freely’ stuff? – while the woman must occupy at least on arm with said bag.  Even if she carries a bag over her shoulder or across her chest she is burdened down.

Diane Mapes at today.com says “Huge purses are an emotional crutch”

From the same article comes this quote, “The big purse full of stuff is not only a woman’s home away from home, it’s a reflection of the woman’s role as caretaker, says Linda Abrams of the Philadelphia-based Council for Relationships.’

I know all you purse loving women are  great people.  I have dear friends and family who love those bags and it makes them feel good to go out accessorized. I just don’t understand it.  The article link above really gets into the psychology of why women carry big bags and frankly I think it is a bunch of nonsense.  Mape does a good job of reporting but oh my there is a certain insanity to much of what some people think.

My blogging friend Kathy McCullough started my thoughts when she posted

7 Signs of Bag-Lady Chic:  A Confession in Photos.  Now there folks is a lady who has bag common sense with a great deal of style.  Now that I can get into.

I have come to the conclusion that women who carry handbags do it because a) they like it or b) it serves some useful purpose, and I will  admit some might do it because it is the style and or everyone else does it.

Do I carry?  Yes.  Sometimes.  Occassionally I will catch myself and throw the thing in the closet or the trunk of my car.  After all, I want to be as free as a man is.  Hmm seems to me women have fought That Fight in the past.

 

15 thoughts on “Just What is all the Fuss with Handbags / Purses?”

  1. ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。*˛˚ღ •˚ ˚…Sending sprinkles of Love to You: Happy Mother’s Day! ˚ ✰* ★˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥

  2. Part of my ADHD–“always organizing, never organized” –remains a quest for the perfect purse. I always check out the thrift shop purses. My current one is a black leather back pack type. Love it, because when we hike, my hands are free, but have lost stuff when I forget to zip it shut. David makes fun of my purses, but when he wants one or another of the items I carry within–tissue, nail clippers, a multi-purpose tool, his sugar tablets, spare keys, Tyenol, an emergency dog leash, a flash light, a lighter, pen, paper, bandaids, and more, I have my reward.

    I also claim carrying it is a weight bearing exercise and keeps me strong.

    And I agree with Emily, men have pockets and the fashion designers don’t want to pad our hips by letting us have them in many of the pants sold today.

  3. HAHAHAHAAHA! I am of the ‘don’t carry a purse’ character as well. Though I have to admit there has been a time or two when I’ve asked a friend or daughter to put something in their purse so I didn’t have to carry it in my hands. 🙂

  4. Chris- For several years I discovered that Spouse`s pants pockets were a great alternative to carrying a purse. Then he got tired of fetching my lipstick. Now I`m carrying a purse again. Men here in Japan a very fond of the man purse btw….

  5. last year a friend of mine on FB was bragging about a great buy she got on a designer bag. Imagine my horror when I heard she had paid $160 for it. Imagine her horror when i told her I’d had the same $10 purse for 7 years!! I’m more the “throw the wallet in the pocket” kinda gal.
    loved this post. I really enjoy your sense of humour and wish we lived closer so we could ‘do’ lunch once a month and compare handbags!!

  6. Great post, Chris! And thanks for the shout-out. This one is very, very funny–and not just because I’m a bag-lady. I knew nothing about when women started carrying them, so I find that info fascinating. I bet back then women only had one, however.

    Again, very fun post, my friend! Thanks, again!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  7. Chris, I’m with you on the ridiculous prices paid for purses/handbags. I admit to owning far too many but do not pay ridiculous prices for them. I wrote a post about this last June and noted that Victoria Beckham has 100 Birkin bags valued at over two million pounds. Now who needs that many bags and that headache if one loses one? 🙂

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

