But Has Anyone Published?

But Has Anyone Published?

This is the first day of the National Novel Writing Month and I can almost hear the tapping and scribbling as thousands start off on a month long marathon of creativity birthing a novel.

I so wanted to take part but could not for two primary reasons: 

Time- more than half of my allotted 24 hours now are devoted to G1 and G2.  I have decided that to keep blogging I am going to consistently write on a five minute a day premise, using Gypsy Mama’s Friday Style every day, which may make for some interesting and depth limited thoughts.  I shall aim for one more detailed post each week, so a commitment to produce 2000 words a day is outside my capabilities.
Fear- I fear that the story I want to write will suffer if I charge ahead just to count words.  Stephen King says that when he sits down each day he completes 2000 words.  It may be sometime before I work up to that. HaHa.

My question of the day is – for all the industrious folk who have taken part in NaNoWriMo – has anyone ended up with a work that actually went on to be published?

9 thoughts on “But Has Anyone Published?”

  1. Katherine answered your question. :-) One great thing about it is the reminder that one must put pen to paper and not worry about the usual stuff until the manuscript is written. I will be working on my 3rd NanoWriMo this year. :-)

  2. According to their web page, any, many winning novels have been written through NaNoWriMo. It appears that by winners they mean people who met the number count.

    1999: 21 participants and six winners
    2000: 140 participants and 29 winners
    2001: 5,000 participants and more than 700 winners
    2002: 13,500 participants and around 2,100 winners
    2003: 25,500 participants and about 3,500 winners
    2004: 42,000 participants and just shy of 6,000 winners
    2005: 59,000 participants and 9,769 winners
    2006: 79,000 participants and 13,000 winners
    2007: 101,510 participants and 15,333 winners
    2008: 119,301participants and 21,683 winners
    2009: 167,150 participants and 32,178 winners
    A growing number of these novels have found publishers, including one New York Times #1 Bestseller (Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen). There is a list of those here:http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/publishedwrimos

    I thought about participating, but it had to be a new novel and I wanted to concentrate on Merlin and Meredyth. What did move me forward again was thinking of a novel as being between 50,000 and 80,000 words. So I am now working on the central story and will hopefully make it part of series.

    Post a day has helped me write. Also I am definitely going to self publish as an E-book. Suggest everyone thinking of writing look in to that.

    And yes, caring for little ones does eat time, but Chris it sounds like you have a plan. Good luck and just put one novel writing foot in front of the other anyway you can.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

