Fishing ….. For Advice

Fishing..for Advice

I can’t think of a memorable fishing experience mostly because I haven’t done it however I am looking for some experts in the tried and true of three year old night fears.  I wondered that G2 had not gone through that stage yet, however this week it began.

Seems there are people coming out of his curtains and those wicked shadows once so nonthreatening have taken to scaring this little boy. Having read up on all kinds of advice, it occurred to me that I have a host of blogging buddies who are experienced and I would love to hear about what has worked what has not.

G2 is having a physical and imagination growth spurt, the imagination being delightful during daytime hours.

What has worked for you?

 Please help me reel in a winning solution cause there is nothing quite like a tired little boy!

Night Fears

28 thoughts on “Fishing ….. For Advice”

  1. Sorry I missed this one, but the commenters were on my wave length. Just want to add a story from my second son. By then I had learned to ask what might help. “Your bug spray.” was the quick answer. When I got him the can of Off, he sighed and said, “Not that, yours.” So saying he hoped out of his bed and got my bottle of perfume from by bureau. Worked like magic. It was Faberge’s Woodhue and I wish they still made it.

  2. When my daughter had dreams like this, I taught her to pray and ask the angels for protection. her big brother just shook his head and told her to “poof” them out of her room. And, of course, that worked.

  3. You inspire your G1G2 to reach for the stars. You have opened a door to laughter and surprise to the adventures of life .you are one good grandma .

  4. Every monster can be scared away. Every monster has a weakness. Every monster has good. Good and evil are well known to each other. The concentration of one outlives the other. Imagination shapes our perception.

    in other words – try the little bravery pills (candies). That’s what gave me courage when I braved the at home darkness at the bottom of the stairs. Sara breeched that courage gap for me.

  5. I disagree with the first comment. (No offense Nanny C!) Maybe I’m a mean mommy….but I just don’t cater to stuff like that. While I understand that childrens’ imaginations can run away with them, reacting that way (to me) only affirms the fact that there IS a monster, and it needs to be taken care of by mommy or daddy…probably every night.

    What has worked for me? My son has a Glomate (you can find them at WalMart or on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/MOBI-70174-Mobi-Glomate-Junior/dp/B003WKW6J8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1317396927&sr=8-2) that he LOVES and I have an old iPod that I plugged into some speakers in his room that quietly plays lullaby music for a few hours.

    I hope that helps!

    1. The glomate works well and things seem to have settled down a bit..for now..he was afraid of the dark in Mommy and Daddies dark room so we went in there together to stand for awhile holding hands and finding out the dark could be fun!

  6. Granny C, you wise and delightful human.
    Nannie C, you angel of granny and child!
    I get so excited about all the good that this blogging world brings. And all the stuff I learn!

  7. I like the first response. It was exactly what I used. One of my grandsons was scared of the wind and it sometimes blows very strongly where they live. We made up a story about a boy who lived in a tree and when the wind blew it was he calling to our Rob to tell him how safe he was. The stories went on for a long time but whether he just grew out of it or the stories had the desired effect I don’t know. And the magic blanket is wonderful too. That helped another little boy – his father.:)

    1. I did the magic blanket thing with great success..the story about the wind is so interesting..someone had shown Caleb who is now 8 the movie Twister when he was 3 and he was terrified of wind for a long time. I think he still may be but now he is old enough to stand straight and face that fear bravely!

  8. I like the above response. I was pretty lucky, my kids never had monsters coming after them. 😦 Sorry I can’t help much there Chris. However, I would like to point out how adorably handsome the G’s are!!!!

  9. I used to sing my little guy to sleep….while scratching his back. I’d sing about his friends and how they were all going to meet him to play in his dreams….he had pooh bear (stuffed one) all the time. I always tried to down play stuff ~ not ignore it, but act like it was just as normal as can be. If he’d get too tense while I was singing I’d get him up, walk him to the kitchen for a little drink or something. Just kept reminding myself that it would pass, and that my job was to stick by his side and let him know all was well. Good luck, I’m sure he’ll grow through it and out of it!

  10. Beat them up! Wherever the monster is, grab him, catch him, trap him and throw him away.. tell your young fella it is ok.. you got him, it is safe now. You scared him off he is never coming back He can go to sleep. And make sure he is not too hot in his bed..Give him a night light and a magic blanket.. the magic blanket is a very good thing for keeping little boys safe especially if it is red, baddies hate red, you can tell him nannie c said so.. plus a dream catcher that catches the morning light. ! I was a professional nannie in one of my lifetimes.. it works! Most of all read him a monster free book every night, maybe a chapter book! For a little while just read for ages every night..so his head is full of wonderful imaginery things..let me know if he needs more help.. c

  11. My husband “shoots the ghosts” from our sons room when we tuck him in at night. We actually have a funny little cap gun for this purpose LOL. When Nick is out of town, I’m left with the responsibility of shooting the ghosts 🙂
    I’ve also read that you can buy a water bottle, fill it with water and a scented extract of something peculiar (like patchoulli or almond oil) and telling your son that its “monster spray” – you have to pick a smell that he won’t already associate with something else.
    Of course, we also just tell Mack that there is nothing to be afraid of – then he justs says “I know…. but can you shoot the pretend ghost?” ha ha

      1. I hated finding out Santa Claus was not all my mother lead me to believe. So I rigorously opposed such myths. Regret it now. Kids will believe what they need to believe and you can refuse to agree, argue with them, or go along but until a certain age what you say won’t matter.

        If I were doing it again, I would probably label Santa a myth, what people want Christmas to be. Think I would have been less angry at my mother for “lying to me” about him, had she labeled the stories a myth and a hope. The fact that my brothers teased me about my ‘baby” beliefs didn’t help. They had a campaign to prove he was a myth, but I didn’t buy it. Then when I climbed up on a Department Store Santa’s lap and smelled liquor on his breath, I knew my mother was a liar and my brothers right about baby beliefs.

        So it goes and we all survived.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

