Jack Layton

Sometimes we think we are too busy then something happens that makes us stop.

Busy times are afoot but on this day I must take time to honor Jack Layton.  Here in Canada Jack was a politician who never left a bad taste in your mouth when you spoke his name.

He was a gentle man, a positive politician who could, and did scrap with the best of them.

We did not always share the same point of view but admiration for him was a constant.  He was decent and how unusual it was that he could survive the political arena for so long?  Unfortunately there is not a single other out there that can be identified as decent.

This is a critical time in the politics and history of the world and Canada is the worse for his loss.

Paul Dewar, the NDP’s foreign affairs critic, described Mr. Layton’s heart “as big as a prairie sky who offered hope at a time when many people were turned off by cynicism in politics.”

Mr. Dewar also recalled his indefatigable optimism and drive: “As many witnessed time and time again Jack dreamed no little dream and when someone said ‘you can’t do that’ to Jack he would smile that smile and just work harder to prove them wrong.”

15 thoughts on “Jack Layton”

  1. Even though I’m not very much of a political creature, I am so sorry that we have lost such a good human being. I posted about him today, as well…likely many of us will!

  2. I avoid politics… at all cost. But I remember hoping that Jack Layton would keep the pot stirred for many years to come. I loved his “guy next door” mentality. He looked out for the little people.
    He will be sorely missed.
    Great job!

  3. Sorry to say that I have never heard of Jack Layton. After reading what has been written I just wish I had had the privilege of meeting him. As a political figure to have so much praise he must of been one helluva guy

  4. …as soon as I read the announcement, I was thinking along the same lines. He was five years older than I. Once again, I was reminded to stop and think… because I want to live this life of mine, so that I can say that I really lived, when my time is up.

    I saw him on TV when he made the announcement, and after seeing him then, I must admit that I wasn’t entirely surprised today. Sad. May he rest in peace.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

