What Success Means to Me

Susan The Coach (susanthecoach.wordpress.com) whom I really believe is Susan MY Coach posted today asking “what is success.?”

 She said, “The danger is you can get sucked into needing more and more of someone else’s definition of success and never really feel fulfilled. That’s because, quite simply, you are living someone else’s dream.

Then the minx that she is threw down the gauntlet – “Take the time to really decide for yourself what your definition of success is and then spend as much time and energy as you can going after it. That is the true secret to health, wealth and happiness!”

Now here I am, in bed, ready to snuggle down with a few good chapters before drifting off to the land of Nod.  But I must address this because it is a challenge that will not let me sleep until I resolve this.  I simply cannot chuck this off til the morning to do list as the matter to be considered is already working it’s way through my gray cells, knocking on each little cell door in the dormitory of my cerebrum saying wake up kids we have a problem to solve.

I so have to reschedule reading her in the light of day.

The only thing I can do is challenge myself, right now,  right here, to define My Success.  What would it look like?  This is not any easy question as success for me has always been defined as success in my career.  Something I am retired from and have been struggling with daily since January to try and figure it out.  Perhaps that is why it has become urgent, having spent the last six months like some sixties hippy trying ‘to find myself’.  Wafting along pseudo thinking instead of  down to the  nuts and bolts of it.

Success for me is:

1). Becoming financially responsible, having a plan, a direction.  Becoming fiscally creative.  Date of completion Wednesday July 20, 2011 (for the plan anyway).

2).  Making a positive difference to the daily lives of loved ones. Date of completion begins August 22,  2011 when the Granny Nanny moves to Hamilton. (as Queen of course!)

3). Getting shed of years of clutter to simplify.  True completion befor moving date of August 22, 2011

4). Becoming involved in discussion groups and committees – very important to my sense of contribution and value.

5). Success in physical health.  Working on it now with swimming and Walking Club and will seek out same after the relocation.

6). More dedicated time to blogging and completing my book.  Working on that now, however my schedule will change post move.

So now I will visualize exactly how that will look and put a plan in place to achieve it.

Thanks Susan it didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would and gives me a base to start with!!

Now off to that Nod thing.

9 thoughts on “What Success Means to Me”

  1. Hi Chris. I just read Susan’s blog and thought that would be the subject of my post today – great minds eh?
    When picturing your success as you define it, also take on the feeling. How will I feel when I ‘achieve’ this? It is the feeling of having succeeded that tells us we have done it.

  2. Hmmmm, wow, that’s a lot of stuff to think about. I also think success is never fully “achieved”. It’s on going. Which you certainly are doing. Once you get to one point, or achieve “a” goal, it seems to be truly successful you move on. I agree with the coach, it’s something you are. And by the way, you’re moving???? How will I visit every day? Hahahahahahaha. I’m so funny. Loved this post!

  3. Well done Chris! You are on your way. And the real beauty of success is that from the minute you define it you can start to live it – real success is not something you attain, its something you ARE!

  4. So Chris, I am subscribed to your blog, but thought that would mean I’d get emails of your posts. Didn’t happen, so I visited today and my goodness what I’ve missed. Any way I always liked Emerson’s what I thought was Emerson’s, but now am told is from a poem by Bessie Anderson Stanely.

    What is Success
    Bessie Anderson Stanley

    He has achieved success who has lived well, laughed often, and loved much;
    Who has enjoyed the trust of pure women, the respect of intelligent men and the love of little children;
    Who has filled his niche and accomplished his task;
    Who has never lacked appreciation of Earth’s beauty or failed to express it;
    Who has left the world better than he found it,
    Whether an improved poppy, a perfect poem, or a rescued soul;
    Who has always looked for the best in others and given them the best he had;
    Whose life was an inspiration;
    Whose memory a benediction.

    For me I used a shortened version of the one attributed to Emerson as my measure of success.
    To laugh often and love much;
    To appreciate beauty;
    To find the best in others;
    To give of one’s self;
    To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived…
    This is to have succeeded.

    However, I thought just helping one life was paltry.

    Of course, I would like to have more money, more recognition, less clutter, finish my novel and travel with my kids and their kids. I think of those as goals, however, and success as a person more of how one has lived to me that is to have as a mission to try to make your small part of the world a better place for all. I do feel I have done that and most of the time even my sons seem to agree.

    You my blogging friend are a success you make your cornier of the world better, you make my breathe easier. Here’s hoping we can also get to some of our goals before the end.

    Stay strong.

    1. Thanks so much Katherine! I had not read that poem before and love it! Here’s to both of us! My dad always said that if each person looked after their own backyard the world would be a better place and I guess that is our own little corner of the world!

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

