Granny Nanny Kitty Care

Granny Nanny Kitty Care

Pulling back the shower curtain, still singing a fav shower song I found myself face to face with two whites. one on the toilet and one in the sink.  Not the Jaws kind, the purring kind.  The family is away at the cottage and Granny Nanny stopped in for a couple of days to keep them company.

They are a pretty independent sort as most felines are who manage quite well with their own company but it never hurts to remind them they are blessed by human companionship negating the need to turn to the dark feral side.  And of course to clean the litter and top off food and water.  They say very little but stretch out on their backs for a good tummy rub.

Now, sitting on the patio with morning coffee, basking in the quiet it almost feels like cottage country here, the only sounds are birds chirping to each other. I imagine at this moment the Haliburtons are waking to the sound of two children and one dog stirring ready for a day in the woods and on the lake.

Until one sits in nature’s quiet it is impossible to imagine the amount of noise and hustle and bustle we have in every day life. And for the moment birds,flowers and leaves gently moving to nature’s rhythm under a blue cloudless sky fill my senses and soul with peace.

At the Cottage

14 thoughts on “Granny Nanny Kitty Care”

  1. The sounds in nature are always sweeter even when it is a tad noisy.. We love cats in our household and have a tabby cat- Tangy. He runs the household and loves back rubs. 🙂
    PS. Catching up on commenting again after a hectic week that included 3 long days/nights at a yoga event. I will be attending another workshop in the coming week (7/11-7/14)and if I don’t leave comments, I will follow up on my return. 🙂
    .

  2. The only thing I miss now that I have moved back to town, is the quiet. There is always something going on. And though the busy road is some distance away I can hear the traffic noises. So another reason I enjoy Wednesday – the family live in the country.

  3. I can just feel my body responding to the peace you describe!

    I’ve been searching for a Cat Nanny to look after my intrepid hunter who refuses to stick to any routine. He makes it impossible to say to a neighbour or friend, “Put him in at ____ o’clock.”. Fortunately I may have found a new-resident Granny who is apparently cat deprived. If I make a comfortable place for her, she may enjoy the anticipation of a black angora who loves a quiet lap.

  4. Almost made my Be With Beauty Exercise Be With Nature, but was living in the Bronx at that time and finding nature in the subway was not always easy, but Beauty abounded. Miss having a cat, but my daughter-in-law is very, very allergic to them. A fair trade for Ben and for Baby Gabe due in three months.

    Staying strong.

  5. I just got back from a business trip and the ambient noise level there was loud. Sitting in quiet, I could still hear a buzz in the air, from the million and a half cars traveling on the nearby roads and freeways. Today I am home and can enjoy the quiet of countryside….while yelling at my own to cats to keep their paws of my brand new couch! I guess there are different kinds of quiet.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

