The Age of Reason Begins and Ireland Wins!

 

 

 

 

 

The Age of Reason Begins and Ireland Wins!
 
What a day! And I have not set a foot outside on this glorious day except to lounge on my balcony, as I continue on the path to recuperation.
 
Earlier today, in search of a new book I headed down to our library in the building. I always take another book to replace the one I withdraw. Searching my stock I grabbed a book I had never read and had no intention of reading. It was a very old tome my son had left many years ago when he embarked on the real world sans Mommy.
 
The book penned by Will and Ariel Durant is part of a series dedicated to history and covers the years 1558-1603 under the rule of Queen Elizabeth.
Before depositing it on the shelf I opened the front cover out of curiosity and was immediately caught up in a gripping tale so well constructed time stopped and the parallel universe of the sixteenth century opened a portal through which I eagerly stepped.
 
About the middle of the afternoon I suddenly realized I was missing the US Golf Open and hurriedly turn on the set. That too was gripping! I spent the afternoon between history made and history in the making.
 
Rory McIlroy a young dashing Irishman won long before he finished with a nine-stroke lead. I posted about the Masters awhile back and the excitement of a close game with about 5 million players all close enough to win, but this was stellar.
 
The game is over but the book goes on. Durant presents the complexities of this convoluted period of time not just with ease but also with hot passion. I had a hard time choosing just one quote from the book to entice you and am determined it to be just one…” Rarely has a woman derived so much advantage from barreness, or so much pleasure from virginity.”  He then goes on to describe the brutality and depravity of the world at that time and the influences of Italy..oh there is so much more and I have barely gotten a quarter way through.
 
I usually find it difficult to keep world history straight and understandable…it’s just too confusing but Will presents the politics, people, and countries of the world in such a clear way that even I get it.
 
Like I said….What a Day!!

10 thoughts on “The Age of Reason Begins and Ireland Wins!”

    1. Tje only difference between me and this young man is consistency in golf. I get one good shot and I am hooked on returning. He had that one shot again and again..he broke 9 records that day..whew..oh and cute as a button!

  1. Ireland occasionally used to win back then too – when the O’Neills were on the go – and had some remarkable women too – Granuaile springs to mind, who once had a face-to-face with Elizabeth.

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

