I Appear Brighter Than I Really Am

Flower Child

I Appear Brighter Than I really Am

This is similar to: objects in the mirror are closer than they appear, but I am glad I do not have to wear a sticky on my rear view mirror or any other part of my anatomy announcing the fact.

There is a fav quote of mine, I have no idea who said it originally but it goes something like this: 
It is better to keep silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt.  I like it. I do not always, or almost never adhere to it, but somehow I can pull it off, mouth and all.

I understand from my father that when I was born the world was taken aback by my extremely intelligent dark brown eyes.  It is my humble belief that was just a reaction from a proud papa gazing upon his first born – me.  He would tell me that story again and again, and so I believed.

So how does one give the illusion of Intelligence?

1). Look, Listen, and Learn.  From everyone.
2). I am a natural empath and connect with people easily.  I feel and understand the emotion behind their words and body language and they feel me feeling them. Minds out of the gutter here..but it works as well in those situations too.
3). Look into their eyes when they speak – with interest, even if you have absolutely no interest in the subject at hand.  It’s surprising what you might learn and hey you just won a fan.
4). Listen for keywords and ask questions. Hey by now they are ready to write you into the will.
5). When you listen, when you appear to care all kinds of amazing things happen.  You do learn, you find yourself even caring, truly and what is better than anything else:)
6) When you do have something to say everyone listens to you!  And usually you have a lot of worthwhile things to say because you have learned so much!

For you naturally bright bunnies out there, this information will provide nothing new, however, I do wish to thank you for teaching me!

23 thoughts on “I Appear Brighter Than I Really Am”

  1. Being the youngest in the family, I comfortably listened and observed. It became such a habit to withhold myself that, when I began my career, I had to grow courage to engage – i.e. speak my perceptions, points of view or knowledge. Being an empath, it is still difficult to introduce a different point of view, but it has been good to learn how to do it tactfully and confidently – hopefully without sounding like a know-it-all. Often I ask a poignant question and if I see the other person is hide-bound, I let it go.

    I saw a great T-Shirt. “SOMETIMES – ya gotta just pick yer knows.”

    1. Good point! It is difficult being an empath sometimes as many people are not comfortable with someone else being able to know truly how theyfeel and it’s true that some of us do have to push themselves to engage.

  2. It originated from Proverbs 17:28 “Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.” (New International Version of the Bible) Great post!

  3. Listening is an uncommon skill many claim to use it but few really do… I love your list of “how to give the illusion of Intelligence.” It’s witty and to the point, plus you remind us about the importance of listening. 🙂 TY!

  4. It was our old friend Abe Lincoln who said “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”
    When I was studying to become a life coach one of the things that stayed with me is that we have two ears and one mouth that means we should listen twice as much as we talk. As you say, when you listen you can learn all sorts of amazing things, apart from the speaker thinking that you must be supremely intelligent or why else would they be interacting with you?
    Great post – again 🙂

  5. Lovely Chris! Lessons to learn and live by that will really make a difference. I suspect you adhere to this A LOT! 🙂

  6. I am a empath as well, that is why we connect so well ~ I like the saying that “god gave us two ears and one mouth for a reason.” I love to listen to others as I tend to learn more from them! I love to learn and analyze everything. To me it’s a sport a hobby. Great post.

    1. I am glad to know another empath. It can be uncomfortable these days as so many people want to appear other than they are and don’t like others knowing or sensing their true selves. Thanks!

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

