The B**ch is a Dog

The B**ch is A Dog

Well here I am for this week, dog sitting and house sitting and cat sitting while the family is in Disney.  The biggest part of the job is the dog.  She’s a lovely yellow Lab  who at six months seems monstrously strong.  Let me clarify – she is monstrously strong, although it only took the first walk for her to heel and walk and sit.  This is a good thing since should she decide to take off after a child, or car I would be spaghetti at the other end of the leash.

We used to have a black lab when the kids were growing up named Fagan who was wonderful.  I guess granddogs are a lot like grandkids.  You get to appreciate them more when they are the only focus so I see or appreciate more of her personality.

I know  Labs are very social animals.  Bree will accompany me where ever I go. To the kitchen, the living room, the bedroom, and the bathroom.  The bathroom is a problem so now I firmly close the door as her curiosity makes it just too difficult to focus on the chore at hand.

Labs instill guilt even more than children.
When I firmly close that door, the look on her face is pathetic as though I am abandoning her on the side of the road.
She brings a treasured toy to me and deposits it on my lap and those brown eyes beg me, just beg me to play just when I am exhausted and have no more play left in me.

Labs love to be outside and this one wants company so about the time I am ready to go in, she stretches out on her belly and more tortured pleas are cast my way.

Labs also will eat anything ..I repeat anything.  She seems to favor plastic and I have no idea where she find it, so I spend time gently removing said product from jaws of steel.  .she also eats or chews on stones.

This dog is all love and she misses her family.  She will lay her head on her paws outside one of the children’s room and sigh and whimper.  She also tries to crawl in my lap!

She loves to show off and yesterday when a neighbor cooed over her she started leaping around the back yard tearing out great amounts of grass and throwing them in the air.

I had considered getting a dog for my apartment but now think just visiting Bree now and then will do just fine.

But my question is…if the female dog is called a bitch..which she is not…what is the male dog called?

18 thoughts on “The B**ch is a Dog”

  1. Chris, your stories here are so wonderful. I visit but do not comment very often. Thanks for the laughter, sharing and for visiting me, too. Our relationships with animals are a deeply enriching time. They can teach us so much. On the other hand, not all are lovable, but even those are Beings from which we can learn. Hugs, pat

    1. I know Pat. Beings of all kinds we can learn from and the smart ones of us do! Thanks for the daily inspiration. Your words affect a lot of us and I for one am glad you are here.

  2. Amblerangel answered you correctly… But that pet watching gig is giving you a good chunk of material… see? I hear you on not getting a dog. I grew up with them but don’t want one at this stage of my life. I love our cat… He acts like a dog. 🙂

  3. I am still trying to convince the Mrs that the house is too empty since our beloved dog passed away a couple of years ago. So far I am not getting anywhere sigh

  4. Oh I love puppies, especially when they’re at that gawky not-quite-babies-any-more stage!
    We’ve always had a dog in the family and for the past 30 years they’ve been Lhasa Apsos. Not the world’s most trainable dog – I always say they’re too smart to be obedient, if you tell them to do something they either ask why or tell you that they have a much better idea!
    She follows me to the bathroom and if I don’t let her come in she snuffles under the door like a steam train which is even more distracting that sitting watching you pee!
    Right now she’s snoring loudly on my feet under my desk!

  5. Bree sounds like fun. Exhausting fun. I like that she favors plastic and stones. I have one that favors anything dangerous. She’s particularly fond of metal bits. I once pulled nails out of her mouth.

  6. Best dog we have had in terms of obedience is our current black mutt–mostly black lab and Newfoundler mix. She came to us at 9 months having made eyes at David when he was volunteering at the local dog shelter. She was so well trained, when we sat down to eat, she left the room. Now she is under the table waiting for her treats, but it took many years of David’s un-training to get her there. At one point David was a dog trainer, but gave it up mainly because it identifies with dogs and is not overly obedient. I on the other hand like a bit of obediance. So it goes.

    If the time ever comes for another dog, we will head to the bound and search for the slightly older and well trained one who needs a home. That is at least my plan, but David probably has another. Enjoy your animal family. I am enjoying reading about them.

  7. Oh I chuckled out loud!

    Dogs are awesome. But I never “wanted” one because I knew I wouldnt’ be able to give him/her the attention they need. Not with work and all.

    So tempting though isn’t it?

  8. Technically a “Bitch” is a female dog with puppies. There is no name for the male dog unless he is the “Stud” who is to be the mate of a breeding pair. Spouse is a vet. I just asked him- I cheated.

    I know exactly what you mean about the dogs- they’re so cute- until you have to train one on our own turf….Maybe you could get a grown dog who is already trained? Plenty of those around.

  9. You are doing well…consider that you are looking after a child that is 3 1/2 years old! Your description of Bree is a description of a black lab I once had as a youngster. That worked…we had equal energy and interest in playing. I hadn’t yet discovered any need for sacred “downtime”.

    Glad Bree is helping you through a crucial decision! 😀

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

