AHA Moments

Aha Moments

It doesn’t matter WHAT we believe – just THAT we believe.

Oprah Winfrey is making a momentous move, but then she has been doing that all her life..making momentous moves.

“O” and “OWN” mean more than just a letter of the alphabet and possessing something.  Her life in many ways is an open book and there is no need, here, to go over it again.

Oprah has made some mistakes, a few very serious ones, but has always taken ownership by admitting and apologizing when someone has been hurt, fixing it when she could, learning from it and moving on.

I have never been a watch the show every day or even some days fan. I only occasionally pick up her magazine but I have been very aware of her.  She has done and will continue to do some great good deeds.

She said she knew from the age of four that she was destined for something great.  She did not know exactly what it was but she knew, and that knowledge factored into all her decisions.

I don’t even know if she ever made a statement similar or exactly like the one above about believing, but it seems to me to be an ‘Oprah’ kind of statement.

It doesn’t matter What we believe – just That we believe.

I have friends and family who are Christian, Agnostic, Atheist, Buddhist, Muslim, and all things in between.  I have friends and family who are none of these things, who believe in themselves.

All are right.  All have found their truth for this time.  Truths change.  Our belief structure of ten or twenty years ago, or from now, may be different.  We grow, we change, we learn.

Even the Dalai Lama in his book ‘My Spiritual Journey’ celebrates diversity in belief.

I too celebrate diversity and I celebrate humanity.

17 thoughts on “AHA Moments”

  1. Never watched Oprah, always at work anyway, but she seems to certainly risen to the top through hard work

    AS for beliefs, it is all good unless it harms others

  2. Here here! Once a person knows thyself…he/she is better capable of owning…being open and not bashful about who they are and what they believe. I think the problem is that so many people don’t take the time to really get to know themsleves, or who they are at any particular point in life…so they really don’t know what they believe. I credit this to the busy/crazy schedules that people try to keep. Did that make sense?

  3. It was very funny – last week I was training some Nigerian government officials on teamwork and managing change and on the second morning I asked them if anyone had had an “aha” moment the previous day. They just looked at me completely blankly and said “what’s a A, H, A moment?” Of course they had no idea who Oprah was! Took me twenty minutes to explain it to them and eventually one of them burst out laughing and said the Nigerian equivalent is “Coo!” So we had “coo” moments for the rest of the week 🙂

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

