Torturing Tantalizing Thoughts & Sleep Deprivation

Torturous Tantalizing Thoughts & Sleep Deprivation

It’s quarter to three no one in the place cept you and me…as sung by Frank Sinatra.  Except its not quarter to three it’s quarter to four..in the morning..being sung my me..sort of.

Now I think I have my night routine down pretty good to ensure a lovely slumber.  But more and more as my addiction to all things words, and how those words became, has taken my fancy, I sleep less.

It’s not so bad when I do a post at least once in the day, but today, well Monday which really is yesterday, I did not.  Is this a haunting?  Sure feels like it.  We all know words have power but really this is too much.  Instead of becoming a master of words it seems I am now the slave to.

Sometime between ten and midnight I go through my routine -wash my face, brush my teeth…Mom and the dentist would be so proud, and settle in for a wee read then snuggle ready to drift off to the land of Nod.  Oh and Nod would be so nice.

But tonight the words start, unbidden.  You did not blog.
Well I will blog in the morning.
But you did not blog.
But I am tired.
I successfully tuck that thought away only to discover other thoughts sneaking in.

I wonder how the idea of a particular story line evolves.
I wonder how Koontz got the idea for…
I wonder how Meyer took a dream…
I wonder how Rowling conceived a whole world riding on a train.
I wonder how King writes strictly in the morning, reads in the afternoon..

Then I wonder how Cody at his new site Awayandaway.com  is doing.
I wonder how Pat Cegan at Source and Inspiration is doing in Brazil.
In fact I start to wonder how all my other bloggers are doing.

I don’t just wonder one line thoughts.  Each wonder is turned into convoluted mindless meanderings which take time.  Land of Nod time.

So I turn on the light, snatch up the iPad, and write something to appease, to exorcise this demon for a few hours at least.

So now I wonder if all my bloggers who have so many wonderful thoughts and sites sleep well.  Do you?

But mostly in this very moment as five o’clock approaches, I wonder if this contribution will be enough to satiate the master of my thoughts to allow a visit to that most desirable Land.

7 thoughts on “Torturing Tantalizing Thoughts & Sleep Deprivation”

  1. Sleeping is not on the radar much these days, as my writing life has dominated all things… You are not alone and many a night when I am writing, some of my late night friends stop in to leave comments… I wonder, for how long we can do this though? 🙂
    Eliz

  2. When I first started blogging ( a month ago ) I would just do it sporadically- whenever I had the time or something I HAD to get out there. Now I spend nights lying awake in bed – even i I’ve already posted that day – thinking of something, anything to put up.
    How did I get enslaved so quickly?

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

