Preserving History – Or How I Learned to Love ‘The Big Lebowski’

Jeff Bridges The Dude

Jeff Bridges The Dude

The sixth decade in life is rather exciting for me.  It is a time when I have pretty much suspended judgement on matters previously assigned to the ‘not interested bin’, ‘it assaults my sensitivities bin’, or the ‘oh, that’s so gross bin’.

Interesting enough, this new open mindedness is a result of continued learning from, no, not higher education, but younger education.  From my children and their children, from the youngsters with the ear buds – a daintier form of ear phones – attached to whatever device that force their eyes downward in the presence of other humans. Those in their thirties and forties are a constant source of education and insight in many ways.

See, way back when, and here you can insert almost any decade in the twentieth century or even to the present day and still be in the ball park, and even though I flaunted propriety in many ways, there was one thing I would not do, and that one thing was an unbreakable rule.  Never ever force myself to sit through a movie or show where the ‘F’ word was the main supporting structure in every sentence.

Now this explains why, when the movie came out in 1998 I never saw The Big Lebowski written and directed by those famous Coen brothers, Joel and Noel who have between the two of them an impressive list of film credits as writers, directors, and producers.

My introduction to this amazing movie came when as I continued on my creative knitting streak (posted previously) I decided to make my youngest son a fisherman knit sweater, something he had long admired.  While chatting to my DIL a couple of months ago and discussing patterns, she asked if I would like to make my son his absolute dream sweater.   The Dude.

my son models his new sweater side view

my son models his new sweater side view

It doesn’t take long these days to check information so I quickly googled The Dude Sweater and so started my education.  It didn’t matter that I had not seen the movie or that one of my favorite actors starred in the film.  What mattered is that I was looking at a my next project.

The search for the pattern took a little time but finally took me to Ravelry.com a most wonderful site which then led to the brilliant Andrea Rangel who has the greatest pattern selections for almost everythinI stayed true to Andrea Rangel’s pattern (except for enlarging the collar) using the recommended yarn which is Cascade Yarns Ecological Wool a rather expensive but well worth it yarn.

I love doing this pattern and am happy to reproduce for any who may wish to purchase it.  It is somewhat costly but if you are interested in learning the details please contact me at cbar_k@yahoo.ca or visit Ravelry.com

Back view - looks pretty good on my boy I think

Back view – looks pretty good on my boy I think

my shy son The Dude sweater

my shy son The Dude sweater

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 17:40:41

    My grandmother was a knitter and taught me a kid. Unfortunately, I’ve forgotten how, but want to learn again. Love the sweater, Chris.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Ironing Out the Wrinkles of Life In a Wash and Wear World | bridgesburning
  3. Darlene
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 19:38:08

    What a lucky son to have you to knit him The Dude sweater! Looks great.

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 12:20:53

    What a talented knitter you are. This is a beautiful pattern and you’ve made an awesome sweater for your son. :-)

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 314 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

