I Worry

It’s cold here in Southern Ontario. Nothing ‘southern’ about this -11C (12.2F) sunny day here.

I worry about children who went to school not warmly dressed, about the homeless, about small animals left outside, on a day like this.

I am grateful for everything I have that keeps me and mine warm.

It is so cold….’how cold is it? Below are photos I just took. The dryer is on and as the warm air flows out of the vent the air cools it so quickly that the moisture cloud freezes immediately on the ground and the door.

Jan 22 2013 001                               Jan 22 2013 002BRRRRRRRR!

Of course a few days ago it reached 15 C (59F) which felt like summer to us Canucks.  The perfect environment to spawn a new wave of colds and coughs, which right this moment afflicts me.

Winds are 44 – 54 km per hour ( 25-30 mph) in some places and at least one highway has been closed down.  We have a few more days of ‘arctic air.  Bundle up everyone.  To my friends in warmer climes —ENJOY!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katya kitchen
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 13:26:00

    It´s very nice of you concern about other people needs, hope you , your family and everyone else needed stay warm! :)

    Reply

  2. Lois Roelofs
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 10:29:53

    We had zero last week and I’m with you. Very thankful for being able to stay warm.

    Reply

  3. Crowing Crone Joss
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 22:37:24

    We’ve had some bitter bitter days here as well. I am tired of winter, tired of the cold, tired of lack of sunlight. I am grateful for the wonderful life I live. How to balance those two?

    Reply

  4. Katherine Gordy Levine
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 14:15:18

    Jut want you to know I have placed you on my Community of Helpers Page – my substitute for a blog role. http://wp.me/PC72X-3kz

    You are listed under Bloggers who should write books. You should you know.

    Reply

  5. kateshrewsday
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 13:19:04

    I think we qualify as being in warmer climes. We are hovering around freezing, here, and very sorry for ourselves we feel because of it :-) It does make you wonder how people in Siberia manage…

    Reply

  6. Roly
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 03:48:26

    Stay warm and help those in need even if it is only one :)

    Reply

  7. Enchanted Seashells
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 23:07:11

    I’d worry about the animals too! You are so sweet.

    Reply

  8. Darlene Foster
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 23:06:20

    Keep warm my friend. It has been foggy and chilly here (-2 C which is cold for the west coast) Spring is on the way though!

    Reply

  9. Kathryn McCullough
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 22:56:29

    I worry about the same kinds of things during weather like this, Chris! Stay warm! It’s frigid here, as well.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  10. misswhiplash
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 13:34:26

    here in BG it has been 22 today, blue sky and very warm…in comparison last year..same time it was -22 and my fingers were sticking to the handle of the spade when I cleaned the donkeys out…but I do feel for those poor animals left out in the cold.

    Reply

  11. cecilia
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 12:56:14

    I also worry about the homeless, people without the where-with-all to get themselves to a shelter.. they must be dreadfully cold where you are and up in chicago.. Sometimes I imagine i will walk down the roads of chicago with scarves or blankets, but i never have.. shame on me really.. we are so lucky.. c

    Reply

  12. Chatter Master
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 12:25:04

    It’s about 7 degrees f here. Not sure what that is in C. But we have the same worries here. Cold. Bitter cold. And it’s affect on the vulnerable. Stay warm friend.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

