Credit Where Credit is Due: Moorehead not Carlin – Profound Apologies

Yesterday I posted a wonderful pondering of thoughts about the ‘state’ of things.  Many people commented on the wisdom and sensitivity of George Carlin, who while he is much loved for many things was not the author of Something to Ponder.

I got a very nice comment from Tim Copsey that these words were in fact and essay called The paradox of our time written by Bob Moorehead.

I did what I should have done yesterday and researched what I could about Dr.  Bob Moorehead who was the pastor of Overlake Christian Church in Redmond, Washington for 29 years, which was once the largest church in the state of Washington.

This was the message from Tim:  And below that my response along with apologies.  We all know you cannot always trust the information on the internet.  You know the old joke “if its on the internet it must be true”, but I should have checked and next time will.

Nice words, but George Carlin did not write this, it’s an essay called “The paradox of  our time” by someone called Bob Moorehead. An outspoken atheist, Carlin would never have urged anyone to pray more often.

If you think that doesn’t matter, I’d say its important to make sure the right words are attributed to the right people. Carlin hated being thought of as the author of these words, while Bob Moorehead deserves credit for them.

http://www.snopes.com/politics/soapbox/paradox.asp

Thanks so much for letting me know Tim and I will repost your comment for everyone, at least everyone who reads this to correct the information.  Credit where credit is due as any of us who has occasional original thoughts would appreciate.  I’ve seen George several times live and yes he was an atheist, proudly, and I think I got so caught up with the message that I neglected to consider the source. Chris

 

**Of note: For anyone else doing research, Moorehead did resign under a cloud which in no way affects the brilliance of his message.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The George Carlin Philosophy | THE SCARECROW
  2. Trackback: George Carlin Destroys The NRA | THE SCARECROW
  3. Trackback: George Carlin on Taxes | THE SCARECROW
  4. Lois Roelofs
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 14:12:08

    Gracious response and correction. This can happen so easily!

    Reply

  5. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 10:17:44

    He will always remain one of my faves too Colleen!

    Reply

  6. Tori Nelson
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 08:12:27

    I’ve been in that boat more times than I can count, Chris. Thanks for clearing things up :)

    Reply

  7. eof737
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 01:22:12

    It happens to all of us at some point… no worries.. Just stopped by to say I’d love to reconnect with you this year …
    •.★♥★Happy New Year to You & Yours!★♥★.•
    Eliz

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 10:13:37

      Hi Eliz,
      I am so glad you commented. Foolishly a few months ago I changed my email notice to my reader but found I could not read a particular post without searching through a lot of others. I have you back on my email! Happy New Year to you also.

      Reply

  8. judithhb
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:27:11

    Nicely done Chris. I had to go back to read your original post as I have become so behind during this holiday season. Lovely weather calloing me outside all the time. Happy New Year (even if I am a little late). Judith

    Reply

  9. barb19
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 19:16:17

    I appreciate the correction Chris, and thanks go to Tim for putting us right.
    I still admire George though, but the credit deservedly goes to Bob Moorehead for these wise words.

    Reply

  10. Tim Copsey
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 19:10:50

    I was worried you’d think I was being interfering and pedantic. A very gracious response Chris.

    Reply

  11. Enchanted Seashells
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 14:48:27

    Things happen, Keep meow and carry on!

    Reply

  12. Chatter Master
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 14:40:06

    Nice correction Chris. :) These things happen. I still love George but appreciate knowing where this came from.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

