Tis The Season

I don’t know of any other time of year when we get to say ‘Tis and Twas so much. I notice as I scroll through the TV guide that many of the shows have to do with Christmas – of course. There is touching, funny, scary, sentimental, moralistic teaching, ….

national lampoons christmas
Each year I have my favorites as do many of you. Number one, the one I stop no matter what I am doing to view, is National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation which is so extreme with Sparky‘s foolishness (Clark Griswold aka Chevy Chase) that it can only be enjoyed if you suspend any claim to reality. The first time I saw it twenty three years ago I decided it was too silly to ever watch again. I guess back then I had a more serious kind of humor. Anyway I fine myself watching it every time it comes on TV, cheering at the tree selection, the multicorded lights which illuminate one house and cause a nuclear plant reset, Uncle Louis’s rug and even the sizzling kitty.
It always amazes me to view complete destruction of windows and walls when the next scene shows everything cleaned up awaiting the next disaster.

This year G2 at four is in awe of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer (even though he calls it Redolph the Rudenosed Reindeer) and G1 at nine is on the fence about whether he believes or not.  He made an extreme request for a computer of his own and something else that cost $500 and when I mentioned those were very expensive requests he said I shouldn’t worry because it came from Santa for free.  He has been notified that Santa does not bring computers to nine year old children.

G2 did turn a little pale when he received an email from the jolly fellow himself.  Isn’t the web wonderful? PNP is a great site and I had fun sending it to adults also!

There is one disappointment for me – so far anyway – and that is A Christmas Carol.  Sure it has been on a few evenings now but its just a poor copy of the original.  The original starred Alastair Sim – well to be perfectly honest it was a remake at that time also – in 1951 complete in black and white.  Part of the charm of the film is that in one scene Scrooge looks at himself in the mirror and if you are very quick you can see the camera man behind him filming.Alastair Sim Scrooge

This story has been filmed and remade so many times but for me there is only one true version.  Perhaps someone will show it this week.  I do have the movie on tape VHS – remember those?

I’ve been noticing TV story line trends for a few months now in my scrollings and so often, regardless of season, the story is about some big city man or woman who goes back to their small town for some reason and there finds true love that they had not noticed before.  How many twists can there possibly be?  Rather tiring I think.

Oh by the by..my new theme is an actual photo I took LAST winter..so far we have had no snow here in this part of Southern Ontario and I so wanted to feel the season so like many things through out my life I shall just pretend. HO HO HO

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:55:57

    Hi Joss..well it has been a time and a half filled with blessings and too many challenges that continue..so for me..as since childhood pretending is pretty darn nice!

    Reply

  2. Lois Roelofs
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 21:33:17

    Love the photo too! And the “grands” reactions to Santa. My little grands are fixed on Dora!

    Reply

  3. Enchanted Seashells
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 20:03:43

    what a beautiful header photo! My fave is Elf, love that film!

    Reply

  4. winsomebella
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:17:48

    I like the silliness of Christmas Vacation more and more all of the time. Great snow scene!

    Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 13:44:48

    Oh, Chris, LOVE your header image. I so wish we had snow here. Had to laugh at your comment about “tis” and “twas”–hadn’t ever thought of that. Happy holidays to you and your family!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  6. georgettesullins
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 07:40:35

    Love your header–winter joy for sure. It seems to come alive with the wp snowflakes falling down.

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:43:04

      Hi Georgette, every time I change the header something else or everything else also changes on the page. Fortunately we finally got snow and lots of it after Christmas Day which meant folks on the roadway were traveling safely. Now it is time to gear up for our New Year, set some plans in place and a whole lot of prayers!

      Reply

  7. Tori Nelson
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 06:32:50

    Merry Christmas, lady!

    Reply

  8. misswhiplash
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 05:02:57

    great snowy picture…did it ever move? T’was snowy that day and t’was a shame it got stuck

    Reply

  9. Sheryl
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 23:05:18

    One of my favorite Christmas movies is It’s a Wonderful Life.

    Reply

  10. barb19
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 22:36:02

    I love your new header, Chris – it’s very soothing for me to look at in our 35 degree heat. Christmas time is just not the same in the stinking hot heat and swaying palms! Ah well . . . I can look at your header and dream of bygone days!
    Have a wonderful time over the festive season enjoying family and watching those old time Christmas movies.

    Reply

  11. judithhb
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 22:32:42

    A shy little lady – I think not any more Chris. Have a wonderful Christmas with those boys. :)

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:51:33

      Hi Judith, it has taken me many days to get back to the blog and comments. So many families I know are going through particularly difficult times including us but everyone continues with a smile ….reminds me of one of my favorite characteristics of the English…the stiff upper lip, a trait I have so admired all my life.

      Reply

  12. Emily Cannell
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 21:04:47

    Have a wonderful Christmas! OS#2 is still mad at us for “lying” about Santa. After 7 years of knowing the truth….

    Reply

  13. Randy
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 20:49:05

    Hi, Nice post thanks for sharing. Would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. Please email me back.

    Thanks!

    Randy
    randydavis387@gmail.com

    Reply

  14. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 17:33:46

    ANd the merriest of Christmases to you…for you are truly wonderful!

    Reply

  15. Chatter Master
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 17:08:25

    I was going to write “haven’t you guys moved that car since last year?” :)

    Your G’s are funny. And I’m sure glad Santa doesn’t have that no computer rule for older than 9 year olds! :)

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 17:32:54

      It all is so wonderful..and even though I did not send a card..you know I wish you and yours..the best yet and many blessings for who you are and the fact that I even found you! Give that hubby a hug from me! Oh! And give yourself one too!

      Reply

      • Chatter Master
        Dec 17, 2012 @ 19:26:43

        :) Consider it done! But I’m in my pajamas again and I think I will wait until I am fully clothed to hug myself again. Hahahahhaa! I crack me up.

        I am so glad you found me too. And across the distance, I have found a friend in you. I shall hug the hubby as well. :)

  16. Crowing Crone Joss
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 15:35:11

    nothing wrong with pretending, sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps us sane…….or not! heh heh. A wonderfully merry Christmas to you my friend – t’is that season.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

