FITFS is back and Everyone Needs a Little Harper Faulkner in Their Life

Yup I have been way to negiligent in carrying out my Friday tributes to my favorite bloggers.  This Fridays Following in the FootSteps post is about Harper Faulkner.  Now just think for a minute about his name.  HF actually did a blurb on his name (darned if I can find it now although I have looked)  and how he got it laced with his usual dose of humor….which reminds me where did he get all that gut busting rolling on the floor with just a word or two humor?  But lets revisit the name thing.

So a wee darling baby boy is born.  His folks gaze upon that angelic face and decide he deserves a moniker bigger than he is.  I suspect they suspected that he would grow into it and by all that is holy he did.  Did he ever carry on relentlessly as a child forcing his mother to say, ‘Now Harper quit harping you are driving me crazy.’  To which I can imagine him saying, ‘I have to harp you named me and now you and the rest of the world must live with it.”

And live with it we do with great relish and delight over virtually everything that comes out of this man.  I have tried to choose a favorite for you to read (in case he is a stranger to you this moment) but damn as soon as I read something and pick myself up off the floor thinking it is the best I get all caught up in another post that I am sure is my fave.

Footsteps

Footsteps (Photo credit: courosa)

Now more than just I like to harp on Harper.  In March of this year Mike Silvia dedicated a post to good old HF.The man gets noticed. I am still not sure if Mike’s post is for or against but one thing is certain;  there is no way anyone will be mediocre about HF. By all accounts he adores his wife and family including the long gone Cousin Buster or at least he remembers him, sort of.  His worth it seems is in his fertile creatuve mind – man of mystery (Clive) and his height. Give yourselves a wonderful gift all wrapped up in wit and intelligence and pop over to say hello.  Just hello, now I wouldn’t you all to start harping about this genius.  That’s his job after all!Love you HF!!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: FITFS Following in the Footsteps of Darlene Foster Supermegawoman « bridgesburning
  2. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:57:13

    Thanks for your wonderful responses to this post Harper. You are a delight!

    Reply

  3. Emily Cannell
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 17:08:18

    That would be as many Harpers as Emilys…

    Reply

    • harperfaulkner
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 16:02:51

      Or it just might be 1962 and the movie To Kill a Mockingbird is watched by a slightly with child young woman. And that movie may prompt her to read the book and that book may so overwhelm her that she names the son she soon has, Harper Lee. Of course, they probably live in the South, too, and in fact, perhaps not too far from Harper Lee’s home. Yes, that might be it. That young women may be a part of a famous Freedom Walk just because she wants to see no more injustice done to an enslaved and now segregated people. Yes, that might be the story. HF

      Reply

  4. Emily Cannell
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 17:07:39

    Harper must be a Southern name- I know as Harpers as Emilys. Funny fella! Thanks for the rec!

    Reply

  5. barb19
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 01:54:12

    You have stimulated my curiosity, so I must go over and meet this fellow!

    Reply

  6. Enchanted Seashells
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 21:34:42

    I went to his site, funny! fyi victoria beckham named her little girl Harper.

    Reply

    • harperfaulkner
      Dec 11, 2012 @ 16:06:37

      Yes, there are boy Harper’s and girl Harper’s and the girl Harper’s are all happy they weren’t named Scout and the boy Harper’s are all glad they weren’t named, Jem. HF

      Reply

  7. misswhiplash
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 14:49:04

    after a write up like that I just gotta go and have a butcher’s hook (look)

    Reply

  8. Mike is Happy
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 14:15:44

    And for the record, I’m very Pro Harper. (Though I’m amateur at just about everything else).

    Reply

  9. harperfaulkner
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 13:37:14

    Blushing! Thank you! HF

    Reply

  10. Chatter Master
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 13:12:50

    I love the HF!!!!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

