What a Difference a Day Makes….Well Not Always..But…

English: Portrait of Danny Kaye

English: Portrait of Danny Kaye (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cover of "Ginger and Fred"

Cover of Ginger and Fred

I was looking at the picture on my earlier post today and got to thinking more about Foggy Days.

And then I got thinking about the coolest comments from people that when they comment, never ceases to amaze me that they actually take time to ..well..er..comment.

Then I got to thinking about the picture itself and the words to an old song came to mind about..of course…What a Difference a Day Makes.  Now lots of people have sung these lyrics but it is the original I think of first.

Words & Music by Maria Grever & Stanley
Adams
Recorded by Dinah Washington, 1959

Yup BMOYWB (before most of you were born).  Now I need to let you in an age comfirming secret.  Back in ‘the day’ and please don’t try to pin me down to a specific day.  I have had way too many days to zero in on one.  That’s why we old folk say, ‘back in the day’.  Anyway, back in the day, when television was called television not TV (it was an age before giving everything initials) as a very very child I used to watch musicals, usually in black and white, since color had not been invented yet.  I mean every kind of musical ever played, usually with Danny Kaye, Fred and Ginger, Gene Kelly, Rosemary Clooney, et al.  Anyway my point is that I grew up singing, mostly to myself as no one seemed to want to listen and I sang my way through life. Okay mostly out of the public eye.  I thought life was, or at the very least should be a musical.  I sang happy, I sang sad, I sang mad.  If I did not have an actual song to sing, I made it up.  I still do it today but mostly when I am alone.  And I dance and skip – mostly when I am alone.  Okay not always but mostly.

English: Portrait of Rosemary Clooney performing

English: Portrait of Rosemary Clooney performing (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now before I get too side tracked I really wanted to tell you about the little four year old in the picture.  You see in keeping with Big Brother’s instructions, I mean the Ministry of Magic, no..I mean The Ministry of Education he goes to school Tuesday and Thursday and alternate Mondays.

Well September was sorrowful and I sang a lot about 16 Tons and whaddya get that month, and a lot about my head was hangin low, and occassionally the sun will come out tomorrow as this wee fellow decided school was a good idea for others but not for him.  He cried before he left. He cried at school.  I asked him why.  He said..sobbing….I..I …I miss my Mommy.  Or some days he said…sobbing…I miss my f…f….family.  All the books about Llama Llama Misses His Mama did nothing to soothe.

Then a family friend had an idea.  Why not stop by to pick up G2 when she was walking her children to school – the littlest who was the same age as G2?  Well the first morning she showed up that little boy had his coat on, his school bag on, and took off, laughing and playing all  the way.  Now his Mom usually takes him and he meets up with his little friends and there is Joy in Mudville again.

I wondered how he would be walking in the fog today and he was just fine.  And G1 who goes a different route to meet his friends took of alone pushing through peasoupy fog just as brave as can be.

So even though the song, What A Difference A Day Makes, came immediately to mind this evening, I must admit, that very little really changes in a Day, although of course some things can a do, but for little boys, sometimes it takes a month or so. (Of course that could be because his parents don’t have him watching old musicals so he hasn’t quite figured out The Difference a good musical can do for the soul.

And thanks to lyricsmania.com I have an excellent song to start your day with!

Lyrics to What A Difference A Day Makes:

What A Difference A day makes
24 Little hours
From the sun and the flowers

Where there use to be rain.

Gene Kelly dancing with Jerry in Anchors Aweig...

Gene Kelly dancing with Jerry in Anchors Aweigh (1945) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My yesterday was blue dear
today I’m a part of you dear.
My lonely nights are through dear
since you said you were mine.
What a difference a day makes
there’s a rainbow before me.
Skies now blues once were stormy
just before i missed that thrilling.
And don’t know when
you find romance on your menu
What a difference a day makes.
And that difference is you
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 08:53:38

    Thank you and yes The Wizard of Oz and Singing in the Rain are definitely among my favorites!

    Reply

  2. Mustang.Koji
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 13:36:46

    Musicals are sorely missed – they would do great good today… And the term “musical” can be interpreted in so many ways by so many people, it is fun. While “musicals” like “Oklahoma” or “West Side Story” pop into mind, I also consider the “Wizard of Oz” to be a “musical” as well… Or even “Singing in the Rain”. :) Nice post.

    Reply

  3. judithhb
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 17:13:12

    I’ve always loved musicals Chris. I think the world is a poorer place without them. I waxed ‘lyrical’ about them in an earlier blog post – http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/monday-meandering/ (blatant self promotion).
    And have you seen this post from Coastal Crone about sleeping in Jessica Fletcher’s home – http://coastalcrone.com/2012/10/26/sleeping-in-angelas-suite.

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Oct 31, 2012 @ 08:52:17

      I loved your list of musicals Judith, especially Carousel and The King and I! I did check out Coastal Crone and how forturnate she was to have stayed in that house. I did not know the house is actually in California rather than Cabot Cove and would love to see it sometime!

      Reply

  4. Chatter Master
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 05:16:10

    I’m glad things got sorted out for G2. And speaking of musicals…I love “Seven Brides For Seven Brothers”. My kids and I missed the generation of the musical’s hey day but we caught them on replays and videos. And we sang our way through their childhoods. Wonderful memories. Thanks for prompting them. :)

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

