FITFS Friday – Georgette Sullins

Footsteps

Footsteps (Photo credit: courosa)

For those of you who may wonder what each Friday’s FITFS series is about, I will catch you up.  It’s all about heroes, specifically my heroes in the Blogosphere.  People I admire, have a blogging relationship with, people I want to emulate in some way (or in every way).  People I learn from.

You know that corny line in the movie with Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt, As Good as it Gets? – “You make me want to be a better man?”  Well, my Following in the FootSteps heroes enrich my life and by their very example make me want to be a better person.

And so it is with Georgette Sullins where this multilingual wife, mother, daughter, and grandmother takes us along on her journey of memories, life lessons, and new things discovered.  We get to arm chair it with this well travelled southern lady.  On her very first blog in Sept. 6, 2010 she started us off with memories of Oaxaca Mexico.

As a teacher for over 30+ years Georgette continues to teach us in the most delicious way.  Her entertainment value is first but oh my there are wonderful things to learn from all over the world.  I love how she did an end of the year review and in December 2011, I think it was, she gave us a recipe for mulled wine, that I had been searching for since 1985.  The exact recipe!

Georgette’s blog has universal appeal, I believe – and I say universal because should there be an intelligent life form in space I am sure they will also be reading her.

Oh! And she names scarecrows! Don Francisco is one!

Do I have a favorite blog?  Can’t say I do because as soon as I read one, it becomes the fave.

Now just what would I like to emulate about Georgette?

Certainly her ability to place us along side her as we travel, observe and learn.  Becoming part of her reality.  It’s a nice place to be.  In her company.  Could not ask for better! And, her enthusiasm for life, her joy and her faith! Oh! and her humour and wisdom.  Oh! and of course her appreciation for me which makes me want to do the same for others.

Please do drop by, say hi, and leave a comment or two.

*How do I choose my heroes?  Well, in the main it is they who choose me.  I cannot choose in order of importance as they are all important so I started first with those whom I have the closest relationship through comments on my blog and those who subscribe to Bridgesburning.  I have a long way to go because I have been very blessed by these most wonderful people. And if I can ever truly emulate them it will be by inspiring others.

http://georgettesullins.wordpress.com/

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Applause Please | bridgesburning
  2. Trackback: FITFS Lenore’s Thoughts Exactly | bridgesburning
  3. aquaturtleme
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 02:21:58

    wonderful…. its a great mind to appreciate & recognise a fellow blogger…. loved the spirit behind FITFS … congrats to Georgette & will be visiting her site just now…

    regards,

    Rose

    Reply

  4. winsomebella
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 12:19:46

    Chris, we have a shared enjoyment of all things Georgette :-).

    Reply

  5. Lenore Diane
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 17:41:17

    You have great taste, Chris. Georgette is one of my faves, too. I am thrilled for her children, because she has captured so many wonderful family stories and put the memories in one place. It is wonderful to have these things documented for future generations.

    Reply

  6. souldipper
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 03:31:27

    Oh, fancy that. Georgette is one of my heros, too. I love good story tellers who write well. She fills the bill for me. Thanks Chris and glad you’re you, Georgette.

    Reply

  7. Enchanted Seashells
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 20:02:02

    Well, you made me curious enough to visit her blog and start reading. Thank you! It’s lovely and you are so nice to do that.

    Reply

  8. Crowing Crone Joss
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 19:54:42

    You continue to entice me with new blogs worth following. Stop it! Stop it now! *giggles and runs away*.

    Reply

  9. cassiebehle
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 19:08:30

    You, and your blog, are lovely! So, I am giving you the Lovely Blog Award! Check out my page for the details. Congrats!

    Reply

  10. georgettesullins
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 17:20:54

    Oh my, you have made my day. You gave me a hint this morning and what a wonderful thing to come home to after a busy day! You amaze me Chris with all your musings, YOUR travels, connections and stories of your family including grandchildren. My mother’s side of the family originally came from Scotland via New Brunswick and Manitoba then found themselves in Washington State. My dad’s family was Dutch yet made their way in Mexico. You have had life experience in both places…well, if not in Mexico in the valley of TX very near the border. So naturally, I’m curious about how you see things. Thank you for this.

    Reply

  11. Chatter Master
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 16:35:30

    Wonderful Chris! I love your FITFS! Always someone new to look forward to.

    Reply

  12. harperfaulkner
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 13:24:47

    Nicely done, Chris. Your words are not only a tribute but will increase Georgette’s readership–at least by one. Thank you. HF

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 314 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

