Oh the Plots We Weave

I was all set today to post something light today catching you up on my week with the felines.  The fam got home from vacation today but the feline population seems to be intent on staying with me.  Perhaps they think it is just a dream that their loving family is back.

Anyway as I was saying….an article in the paper caught my eye this morning and it has been weighing heavily on my mind since.  Not just the story but the questions it raised.  First I want to ask you – can you take a look at your life and figure out who writes the plot and directs your life?  Are you in charge of  your life?  Do you believe in fate?

There have been events in my life where I have definitely felt the strong hand of fate but then I get wondering, if I believe in fate does that automatically mean I believe in predestiny and if so does that mean we have no control over our lifes?

Something happened on Friday.  A young woman named Jessica Ghawl at the age of 24 was one of 12 people killed when Jason Holmes decided on a killing spree at a theatre in Aurora Colorado at a screening of The Dark Knight Rises movie.

This in itself is horribly sad  and one thought is, how awful to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.  But there is more.

This same young lady was in Toronto last month when there was another killing spree at the Eaton Centre and she missed it by  3 minutes changing her mind on a certain course of action.  She had planned on shopping and then sushi and for some unknown reason changed her mind at the last minute, decided on a burger and left the shopping mall.

If she had gone for shushi she would have been one of the victims.  Afterwards she said she could not identify the feeling in her chest, the odd feeling in her chest that saved her life.

I remember a case a few years ago when a man missed his plane and that plane ended up crashing.  Sometime later he died in a crash anyway – I think it was a car accident.  I think the movie Final Destination dealt with this type of thing to the ridiculous extremembut my point is it happens.

Have you ever changed your mind on a course of action due to an unexplained feeling or thought?  Has it ever completely changed the plot of your life?

I guess there are more questions than answers in this post none of which could be answered in just a few words.

12 people dead and 70+ injured.  Hundreds of lives changed – perhaps thousands.

*Someone mentioned to me that the guilty party will probably be deemed insane and get off.  So the only other comment I will make is that I believe, sane or insane we must all always be responsible for our actions.  Insane?  Drunk? Incapable of good judgement?  Oh that’s too bad.  You still have to pay.  Just my opinion.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine Gordy Levine
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 13:24:06

    Death seems to have a date in mind for us all. I think anyone who does what James did is doing something totally insane. And it is now coming out that he was probably caught in a schizophrenic break and could not tell the real from the imaginary. Happens to some at around his age, seem normal then all goes hay wire. I don’t believe in the death penalty but not in release of any one who has killed.

    Also I read his shirnk was incompetent and letter he wrote to her saying what he was going to go stayed in a mail room so long she didn’t get it until after the facts.

    Anyway I pinned your blog to t my Blog Hop Page. http://pinterest.com/pin/147141112796333153/

    Reply

  2. souldipper
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 23:48:21

    Chris, I have heard from many sources that after we die, we review our lives to see how our actions as a human had a detrimental effect on others. This is not meant to be punitive. It is to help the soul realize who they will be in their next life so they can design agreements with those people that will “make it up” for the negativity. However, there can be screw-ups because we have our own will. Therefore, one of the reasons it is wise to not judge is because we don’t know their agreements. Some souls are willing (and loving enough) to take lives and roles that will allow the person to carry out wicked events – because that life experience will provide the insights needed.

    I’m told that everyone we connect with – who creates a significant FEELING in us – is part of an agreement. That concept helps me forgive.

    When we are aware of these seemingly horrific events, we can ask ourselves if we would be capable of the same act or deed. Sometimes it’s a hard question to really be honest about.

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Jul 22, 2012 @ 10:47:53

      Hi Amy,…I share the same thoughts most of the time. I I was explaining in an email to Georgette Sullins how clear these things are on the inside close to my soul and how difficult it is to externalize. Its almost as if we are meant to understand inside, to feel it..but talk about it? Not so much. Perhaps when our communication between each other is better our voices will not need limiting imperfect words to communicate. Thanks so much for commenting on a very difficult subject.

      Reply

  3. ceciliag
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 23:25:41

    It is a dreadful thing. when they bombed the underground in london i was toddling down the road, bag over my arm aiming for the underground doors.. Such an incredible and dreadful thought,, that fate has it in for you..or has skipped over your head.. hmm..

    Reply

  4. Crowing Crone Joss
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 20:25:28

    I don’t know what to say, it’s so easy to get caught up in conversations about this…sighs…I send healing energies as much as I can to all those in need.

    Reply

  5. Lenore Diane
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 18:54:34

    Rob and I were to fly to San Fransisco in 2001…. September 12, 2001, a day before the planes hit the Twin Towers. That was as close as I’d like to be to a disaster.
    I’m not sure what I think about fate. As Christians, we ware taught that God knows everything that will happen. I suppose this means everything is already predetermined. However, there is free will, so we are able to change our mind at the last minute. But, does that mean God knew we were going to change our mind? I have no clue.
    My heart goes out to the victims and their families. I am more concerned about the post-traumatic stress disorder that will likely be common with the survivors. While dying in such a horrible way is awful, I think living through it and seeing the carnage could be worse. You just don’t forget something like that – you know?

    Reply

  6. georgettesullins
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 18:25:57

    So sad and so horrific. Enough! My comment came out long so have replied in an e-mail.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

