6 of 7

One of the great pleasures of serial stories is the satisfaction of starting a reread from the beginning and not having to wait for the publication of the next edition. There is flow with anticipation dependent only upon your rate of speed in gobbling up the goodies served with each novel. There are a few series I enjoy, the latest being Harry Potter. My sis had acquired all the books I was missing to complete the set of seven and what a thrill to close one book and immediately pick up the next. Even if completion of one occurred in late evening I immediately started the next, just for the satisfaction of reading what came next. Well imagine my consternation and confusion when I went to the book shelf and could not find number six, ‘The Half Blood Prince.’
It wasn’t enough to cause a case of cursing but it threw me off my stride. Where could it be? A quick search through out the place revealed nothing except for a missing sock, which I assumed had been eaten and digested by the washer sometime ago.
Through the course of the reread I had also completed two of the Stieg Larsson series about ‘The Girl': The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who played with Fire. I am patiently waiting for the third and last book as it winds it’s way through my reading group. It’s a reasonable wait, but number six? I was sure I had all my ducks in a row so to speak.
I reached out for the seventh book, The Deathly Hallows a few times, but it just didn’t seem right you know? I searched my data memory bank and am pretty sure it was in a load of reading I had taken to my sisters. At least I am counting on it being there. Last night I started number seven, too impatient to wait but the universe is a little askew. There is an uncomfortable feeling like the way you feel when you know you should have done something and did not, or you did something and should not. It’s nothing major in the big scheme of things but it niggles. Niggles is such a perfect for those little irritations, which makes me think of muggles, which makes me think of number six. ¬†Sigh

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chatter Master
    May 05, 2012 @ 21:32:51

    I can commiserate with you, at least in theory. Though I could NOT get in to Harry Potter. It has tormented my youngest daughter. I tried. Could not do it. I hope you find it soon!

    Reply

  2. Emily Cannell
    May 04, 2012 @ 09:03:00

    I hate when a good series ends. I go in to a depression for days. The good news is now I forget them so I can re read every few years.

    Reply

  3. ceciliag
    May 03, 2012 @ 15:47:13

    Oh that would make me mad! this is why i have such trouble with series, i want to read the whole book all at once, and I have to have something to read always so to not be able to find the next one would make me crazy.. I loved the Larsson series though! c

    Reply

  4. Katherine Gordy Levine
    May 03, 2012 @ 14:32:40

    Then there is the mourning when there are no more. A biggle than a niggle. I am getting back on track and glad to see you posting. Stay strong I am doing my best to do the same.

    Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    May 03, 2012 @ 13:50:38

    I have to agree that series of books is the best–as long as they have all already been published and you don’t have to wait till the next one comes out.
    Hope you have a great day, Chris!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

