What Not To Say To Your Spouse of 45 Years

What Not To Say To Your Spouse of 45 Years

My Dad loved his movie camera and got his first one in the early sixties.  When my folks died in the early 80s I was charged with taking care of the tub of photos (none of which were identified) and the canisters of movie film.  My middle sister and her hubby borrowed those movies some years later and were given charge over their preservation which they did very well.

Then a couple of months ago they found out the movies could be professionally transferred to DVD.  This was the reason for tonights dinner party.  A set of DVDs were made for each of us, my sister prepared a feast of lasagna and Caesars salad and the rest of us brought the extras.  The dinner was a smash hit and everybody raved about the lasagna (my sister being one of the best cooks ever.)

Her husband, my brother in law, who is a great guy, wanted to jump on the praise bandwagon and began to rave on about the perfection of this particular main course and that’s when it happened.

“Honey this is the best lasagna you have ever made!”

“Well,” she said, “I decided to do it a little differently.”

“You know,” he said to the rest of us, “For forty-five years I have been eating dry lasagna and this is perfect!”

OOPS….silence…as we wait…

“WHAT DO YOU MEAN THAT FOR FORTY-FIVE YEARS YOU HAVE BEEN EATING DRY LASAGNA!!”

We all burst out laughing but the subject came up a few  times during the rest of the viewing and I’ll betcha it will be discussed again and again and again in the next forty-five years.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eof737
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 04:38:23

    I can imagine the endless needling… what exactly did you mean by that? ;-)

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 08:10:01

      I talked to my sister the other day and she and her hubby are still laughing about it but she will continue to needle him about it for awhile at least until some new gaffe is made. I think it is the humor about these things that make them so strong.

      Reply

  2. Emily Cannell
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 20:59:40

    That is really funny Chris. I just ate some left over tuna casserole from last night- which I didn`t eat last night but everyone else did. The potatoes were just as crunchy as when I cut them. No one told me dinner wasn`t cooked when it was served.

    Reply

  3. Bridgesburning Chris King
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 19:44:58

    Georgette..they are still laughing about it…must be the clue to a successful marriage..not that I have ever had one..LOL

    Reply

  4. georgettesullins
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 19:43:24

    What a wonderful sister and brother-in-law to digitize your archives! And to turn it into a dinner reunion. Sounds like a wonderful evening in spite of the fact one put his foot into his mouth. Thank you for sharing about your family gathering.

    Reply

  5. Chatter Master
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 18:00:17

    I bet he doesn’t get lasagna for awhile! :)

    Reply

  6. winsomebella
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 09:09:35

    That is a lot of dry lasagna…and yes, there will be a lot of re-telling too :-)

    Reply

  7. Kathryn McCullough
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 06:30:58

    Ha! That’s too funny, Chris. At the moment, I’m the keeper of our family’s photos, which I am hoping to digitize. Great gift–if I manage to pull it off.

    Hope you have enjoying your weekend!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  8. Crowing Crone Joss
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 23:22:51

    too funny. sometimes a man should just eat and smack his lips. hee hee.
    what a lovely thing – the dvd collection for each of you.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

