11/22/63 ARGHHHH

11/22/63 ARGHHHHH!

I don’t know if it bothers Tabitha King very much that I spend long nights with her husband, but I do know recovery the next day is getting more difficult, but I get sucked into it every time.  Okay, truth be known I am sure Tabitha knows a lot of women spend nights with her husband – and probably men do too.

Stephen tends to be that way.

Now normally I can handle a few hundred pages within a few hours and scarcely notice my addiction until I am faced with what will probably be a very long night.  This was fine in my previous I can sleep as late as I want life, but now I have a cherished responsibility.  And Stephen, my dear frankly does not give a damn.

Ah Stephen

I had a free afternoon so got into 11/22/63, Stephen King’s new killer novel which I cannot put down.  I am 287 pages into it, and (no Rosalyn there will be no spoilers here) and there are a total of 849 pages!

It is now 12:30 am and I have been having discussions with myself about regaining my sanity and putting the book aside until tomorrow evening.  I have tried berating myself, pulling the mother/child self-scolding approach and thought I had actually succeeded when I shut the light off half an hour ago.  But to no avail.

Since these thoughts keep running around my brain, and I blame Tabitha for not being able to control her husband’s attraction for others, I thought I would feel better if I just did this one post.  Something to clear my mind, put things in perspective (NO Chris, once again you cannot possibly complete another 562 pages by daylight!)

Between you and me – if there was even the teensiest possibility I would give it a go.

Now I feel better, have my urges in control and will not, will not I repeat pick up this book again until tomorrow – er – today at 5:30 pm.  I am an adult.  I can do this.  I can.

It is now 12:50 am and I am gong to bed.  I am.

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. souldipper
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 12:41:37

    It’s fantastic to have a book that good. I need one now! I heard Stephen on Q talking about this book. Did you as well, Chris? I really like his everyday-people style. Nothing uppity about this man.

    Reply

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:56:19

    I think I read “The Stand” in about 3 days because I could not put it down. It takes a rare author to hold MY attention that well :)

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 12:14:48

      Yes Mark, The Stand was another book that did that for me. I can’t read some of his books, but did read Dumas Key which scared the daylights out of me but I couldn’t put the book down or even turn the scary sections…this book is more about time travel and changing events..so no spookiest there!

      Reply

  3. misswhiplash
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:12:56

    I could not think of anyone nicer to go to bed with!

    Reply

  4. georgettesullins
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:47:43

    Sounds like an absorbing book. My time at the keyboard is early in the morning and yay it’s still only twenty minutes to seven…I give myself to 8 and then my schedule calls me to bundle up my crate and pack off for class…thank goodness for this discipline of teaching to get me out of the house. yet…yes…I do take a peek at the office.

    Reply

  5. Katherine Gordy Levine
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 04:28:19

    Because I feel the sweep of the reaper always swinger a bit closer to my heals and because I want to finish my novel I made a decision not to read books that would obsess me. Then I became addicted to blogging. I too am going to bed. Stay strong, it ain’t easy.

    Reply

  6. Emily Cannell
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 03:00:34

    He sure looks different with blonde hair.

    Reply

  7. Barb
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 02:53:42

    Put the book down. Put it down. That’s good. Now walk away. NOOOOO. don’t stop at the computer to do a post. Get away from the sinful addiction known as the keyboard. Just say NO.

    Seriously. Thanks for the head’s up. I’m looking for Christmas presents, and this book sounds like a good one. Thanks. Hope you got to sleep.

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 09:14:35

      Thanks Barb…it is gripping…’put the book down. put it down..made me smile …reminds me of that line in Con Air when Nicolas Cage says…Put the bunny back in the box….put the bunny back in the box…too funny!

      Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

