Life’s Straight Course vs The Roller Coaster

I would never ever, even if begged, bribed, or coerced ride a real roller coaster.  I don’t doubt the safety but wonder if my heart would just stop mid ride but I have habitually ridden those rickety tracks in life, living with passion and energy, embracing the highs and philosophizing my way through the lows, mostly with a ‘this too shall pass’ attitude.

I love feeling the thrill, the joy, the superman of it all but I find with advancing age that I now feel if I want this engine to keep running I had better slow my life to a more consistent speed.  Hmmm slow is the wrong word because I am not slowing, just attempting to keep things at a more constant rate with less revving and down shifting (is that the right term?) guaranteeing a smoother longer ride.  That’s the smart way…right?

Now who am I kidding……I am just feeling a little tired tonight and know that when the morrow dawns my current quiet joy is going to blossom, rev, and ride again!

Sweet energizing dreams all!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eof737
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 18:51:13

    I’ve never cared for them at any age either… Roller Coasters make me wanna barf. Sorry! :-)

    Reply

  2. Crowing Crone Joss
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 20:40:46

    I’m with the skittles guy! heh heh.

    Reply

  3. Chatter Master
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 17:50:34

    I hope the roller coaster was on the way up today! At least you didn’t want or need to hurl! :)

    Reply

  4. Tori Nelson
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 17:01:42

    Love the analogy, Chris! Here’s to handling the up’s and down’s with grace…. and praying for more up’s than down’s :)

    Reply

  5. souldipper
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 11:14:45

    I’ll take the roller coaster over the ferris wheel. I don’t like slow, creeping rides to the top remembering that this wheel was assembled by humans who may have missed a few pieces.
    On the roller coaster, who has time to think? I just get right into the ride!

    Don’t try this at home…!! :D

    Reply

  6. Katherine Gordy Levine
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 22:18:53

    Hy kids talked me into riding the Dragon Coaster at our local amusment park. I thought I had died and was on my way to H—. When the ride ended, they ran to get in line again, I jelly-legged it to a bench and it took me an hour to breathe normally again. Life has enough ups and downs and turns and twists without inflicting roller coaster rides on yourself. Stay strong.

    Reply

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 21:02:20

    Chris…you need to go out and buy yourself a huge bag of Skittles than you can munch on in times like this…… Trust me, it will do wonders…… :)

    Reply

  8. Judith
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 19:46:51

    Isn’t life the ultimate roller coaster ride? But don’t slow down, just choose what you want to do and go for it!

    Reply

  9. Neeks
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 19:44:31

    I’ve found that as I get older I have definitely slowed down, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. All haste and speed to the young who still have the power and muscle to move mountains the hard way. I’ll use my elderly wisdom to direct them. lol.

    Reply

  10. ceciliag
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 19:41:37

    well you certainly are not slowing down i agree with you there! c

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

