How Important Is History?

How Important Is History?

So here I sit at a precipice able to write a history for my sons and grandsons but opposing
there is the living of life.  My days are full and I love it.  My heart says it is important to take the time to write.  At the end of the day I am tired.  Projects sitting waiting completion but I embrace the quiet.

Life is wonderful and I realize I want to tell a story but age is a tiring thing.  I have learned that giving all to the moment is wonderful.  The joy of entering the world of others, specifically children is enticing and for this moment in my life it is as it should be.  Sometimes the living out does the telling.

Perhaps there will be time in the future; perhaps I will find a way to accomplish both but
for now the living is more important than the telling.  Now pops up the thought that if everyone felt that way there would be no history for someone must tell the story.

Hmm perhaps, just perhaps I can do both.  For now it occurs to me….both is desirable.

 

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sister act
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 16:52:38

    excellent I always enjoy your writing

    Reply

  2. winsomebella
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 14:20:02

    What wisdom: “for this moment in my life it is as it should be.” Lovely.

    Reply

  3. thoughtsappear
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 14:09:13

    I love hearing about my mom’s history. I just gave her a book with lots of writing prompts in it, like who was your first crush, etc. Once she fills it in, she gives it back to me.

    Reply

  4. Jackie Paulson (Author)
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 11:27:34

    Living is more important than telling is a great way to live in the Now…The reason I wish to write is because I don’t have much of an “outside” world of family and friends…you all live on the internet. Bless you ♥

    Reply

  5. Tori Nelson
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 10:58:37

    “the living is more important than the telling”… This line is perfection!

    Reply

  6. ceciliag
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 08:02:03

    I think you are right in that both are desirable. Might i suggest that you buy a school notebook and just make notes in there, lists or scribbles or drawings, dates. When my mother died she took way too much information with her. Now it is gone, no-one to ask. And history is important. Young people long to know where they came from and what happened then.. anyway, just make a scribble history whenever a thought occurs to you.. not a heavily worded pressured one..those are my thoughts anyway.. c

    Reply

  7. ElizOF
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 05:22:22

    Both are wonderful but living life is more important. Enjoy your time! :-)

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Nov 03, 2011 @ 08:42:44

      Thanks Elizabeth…my mind is working on perspective as there are so many people..well just about everyone who have much busier schedules than I..I’m pretty sure with a change in attitude and a different approach I can accomplish all.

      Reply

  8. Ibrahim Asghar
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 01:50:21

    Sometimes the reality isn’t that appealing, it’s how you describe it. And because of that, i must encourage you to write more.

    Everything thing goes with living :)

    Reply

  9. Judith
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 23:56:09

    I started writing my memories for my grandsons rather than a history but hen blogging took over. Many of my blogs are memories so perhaps that will do for the present. Maybe sometime in the future I shall go back to writing Memories.

    Reply

  10. souldipper
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 23:28:21

    One thing that is good about getting older…we live our priorities. Happy decision making, Chris. Mother was supposed to write for our family and she simply could not do it. We have lots of fun filling in the blank spots with our own renditions and arguing over who’s accurate.

    If we were famous, I suppose it would matter…

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Nov 03, 2011 @ 15:58:33

      We do live our priorities …even the famous cannot really get an accurate history or give one for that matter..it is so subjective and open to interpretation and I am pretty sure most of it is made up…one way or another..I am not really a fan of biographies particularly autobiographies because I distrust the individual remembrance of things…would probably be terribly boring otherwise!

      Reply

  11. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 22:33:32

    “Live today, write tomorrow” :)

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 311 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

