Offenheim Family and Google Searches

Offenheim Family and Google Searches

I love Google!  On Friday I posted about a talented musical family we met decades ago in the Haliburton Highlands.  Yesterday I was thrilled to receive an email from Sandy.  I removed personal family information but am posting the rest here so, as Paul Harvey says you will know, ‘the rest of the story’!

Hello Chris:
I received a Google alert this morning which had your very complimentary memories of Kia Ora and our young children at the lake.  Of course, you mentioned Sandy Offenheim and Family and our music, which you still remember.
 
Yes, it’s been 36 years since our first album of kids’ songs came out.  So hard to believe.  The wonderful thing is that now we have email, websites and the like and so people can locate me and order our 25th anniversary compliation CD, Let’s Play a Statue Game…Again..  and they do.  The orders always come with beautiful comments and happy memories, which makes me very happy.
 
You said you didn’t know what we were doing now, so I’ll fill you in.  After my music began slowing down, I went back to school and became an ESL: teacher for almost 20 years.  I retired from it 5 years ago and am now completing a 2 book series of chants, rhymes and activities for ESL.  I’ve been working closely with the publisher and we hope to have the first book out this fall.  Harold retired too and he is helping me with the book on all the computer stuff.
 
I’ve also been busy for 6 years working on a project with another woman for the ageing population.  We’re hoping to get that out….we have some pokers in the fire and are hoping…..
 
I must say that I was very impressed with your writing.  You express yourself beautifully.  Do you write professionally? I loved the way you described Haliburton.  Those simple, lazy days are amongst my most favourite memories of quiet, family times….before all the technology that so fills up children’s hours these days.  We were lucky to have that time up north.  I believe that Kia Ora was sold to a corporation some time ago.
 
I wrote a song “Dream by the Water,” which is on my 4th album Nicknames, while sitting by the lake.  It’s a haunting, simple song about the effect of that place on me.
 
Anyway, I just wanted to comment on what you had written.  Thank you for making my Saturday morning.  I really appreciate your thoughts.
 
Sandy

To view Sandy’s web site click below.
 

http://www.sandyoffenheim.com/

 
To see Sandy’s interview  Click below
 

 
To View Sandy on youtube click below

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ElizOF
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 04:40:32

    The magic of Google.. How wonderful to reconnect after so many years. Lovely!
    Eliz

    Reply

  2. susanthecoach
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 00:47:07

    Isn’t technology wonderful when it allows us to do this?
    Oh, BTW Google Alerts is part of Google Analytics where you get messages when someone mentions your name, or any other names you use, online. Its fun, and sometimes a little daunting and free!!

    Reply

  3. souldipper
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 21:18:18

    This is another example of the ways we can connect and reconnect with people. Isn’t it good to learn of such a productive life led by past acquaintances?

    Reply

  4. Sana Johnson-Quijada MD
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 21:03:26

    U r liebstered my friend. See today’s post. Hugs

    Reply

  5. winsomebella
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 15:18:40

    So glad you shared this rest of the story!

    Reply

  6. ceciliag
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 15:09:02

    what a fantastic outcome.. but what is a google alert?, how wonderful for her to get in touch.. c

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Sep 18, 2011 @ 21:42:58

      Hi Cecilia..I have no idea what the alert is but am glad it is there!

      Reply

    • Billy
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 04:10:27

      A Google Alert is a free service that tells you when your chosen search term appears in Google database.

      Sandy probably has “Sandy Offenheim” and “Offenheim Family” as some of her keywords. Whenever Google finds a story with her chosen phrases, Sandy gets an email with a link to the story.

      Reply

  7. Nance
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 13:51:21

    Delightful! I know this was a gratifying post to create.

    Reply

  8. Chatter Master
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 10:12:40

    Lovely! What a great play of events. Great memories to great connections. :)

    Reply

  9. misswhiplash/Patrecia
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 09:25:13

    That is wonderful Chris, from just a memory, to writing, to google, and hey presto! a fantastic result and a wonderful reply

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

