Where is Spatial Visualization When You Need It?


Where is Spatial Visualization When You Need It?

Thinking in pictures. Conceptualizing. Imagination with application. Good taste.  Classic lines. Feng Shui.  Positive Energy flow.

Heck, I am throwing ideas/things out there like partially cooked spaghetti against a wall, hoping something sticks.

Genes genes the musical fruit, the more you eat the more you …oops that’s beans not genes.  In my search for perfection or even comfortable mediocrity  I am forced to accept the gifts I have naught, as in ‘missed the train on that one’.

I am presented with a lovely living, creative, work  space in my son and DIL’s home and I am bereft, befuddled, beyond the ability to organize.  You see, I have no talent.  None.  In fact my good taste gene is so deficient I do not even have the skill to copy another.

Now maybe you can help.  Please visualize.  The room is rectangular and while actually measuring would be rather mundane I can describe it as a nice chip shot length, say 9 yards by a comfortable putt of 5 yards.

I have ‘things’ to place in the room and no idea where to begin because the flow of energy through the current design is nothing more than the bump and grind of error.

By days end there will be some sense of order, of comfort and no doubt a good degree of exhaustion, because thinking in areas where you were never meant to be is taxing on a soul who was I am sure destined to have all and sundry ready to do her bidding.  Reality bites.  Truly.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Paulson Author
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 16:27:00

    Oh you are talented and you are creative, look at what you write! That is so important- you write very well and with great expression. How on earth can you or he have no talents or maybe don’t think so. I hear ya on small spaces. I believe you just moved? The first think I do in my new place of a month is place a cross and a clock on each wall. Then I cannot unpack because we sleep on couches and have nothing else! No dressers, no shelves, not one thing! So, I have crates and my books are in there as that is my priority – so small space with crates that can be stacked onto each other-mine are all wood but I will paint them one day! Yes that One day sentence. Yicks! Anyhow I am not working so it bothers me that I cannot buy anything to organize. I love to be organized I wish I could come help you. I treasure books more than money that is how I value life- Knowledge. So, my cheap idea is crates that you get online at Micheals.com or hobby lobby. They are cheap! I plan to get more. Oh I better stop here. Chris you amaze me!!

    Reply

  2. ElizOF
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 01:33:59

    Oops, I was going to suggest getting candles.. :-)

    Reply

  3. ElizOF
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 01:33:19

    I’m for flowers and a fung shui ready water fountain.. CVS look for candle light.

    Reply

  4. ceciliag
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 09:19:48

    Good morning, My name is cecilia and i have quite literally stumbled across your blog and have been touched reading it..you are coping with an astronomical change i think.. I hope i may come again and read some more.. be gentle with yourself..c

    Reply

  5. Joceline
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 10:41:12

    think “nest”. that’s what you want to create, a nest for yourself within their home. Visualize words such as comfort, cherish,precious,rest,blessing – out of that will come your space! Get out of your head which says “I can’t” and into your heart which knows….
    walk in beauty this day.

    Reply

  6. Chatter Master
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 08:09:04

    Well now I’m curious to see how it all turns out! Maybe if you don’t have the gene to make it flow, it is one of these “generational skipping” genes and your son has it?????? I don’t have it either.

    Reply

  7. misswhiplash
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 07:50:38

    Well…yes….I must be very thick today, as I read it twice but I could not understand.
    Chris, do be lovely and explain to a doddery old lady just what are you talking about…. once explained it will be obviously clear .

    love Patrecia

    Reply

    • Bridgesburning Chris King
      Sep 10, 2011 @ 07:54:48

      Hi Patrecia…when I moved to my son’s in Hamilton a couple of weeks ago they built me a lovely room for my things. I have a sofa, desk, bed etc but have no skill in placing the items to make the room functional and comfortable. No skill whatever in interior, or exterior decorating. My son is coming in a couple of hours to lend assistance. :)

      Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 314 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

