A Poem for Mama Kat

Prompts:
 
1.) List 10 things you wish you could say to strangers who share unsolicited advice about your parenting skills.
2.) Write a poem inspired by a picture you took last week. Share both!
3.) Create a bucket list of 50 things you want to do this summer (with or without the kids!)
4.) A country you would like to visit.
5.) What is something you could stand to learn from your significant other?
 
2) Write a poem inspired by a pic you took.
 
A quiet night two boys sleeping
When the clouds gathered
Then two boys weeping.
 
Thunder shook the walls around
And one voice calling
Gramma, GRAMMA! sounds.
 
I flew down the hall with a plan,
Banish these fears
Make fun if I can.
 
Two boys one bed shaking, forlorn,
Fingers in ears pressed
Yea! I love a storm!
 
Storms are great said I above the noise
The angels are bowling
Don’t you love it boys?
 
Not so much it seems so I stayed
Telling stories fun,
About nature made.
 
The source of fear caused a blister
Not easy to calm
The source was Twister.
 
We huddled twice at midnight and two
Uncertain smiles now
As the storm still brewed.
 
Finally the storm abated,
The children asleep,
And still I waited
 
And watched in wonder two wee boys
Whose only call rang
In the midst of noise
 
GRAMMA!

and the thunder rolls

music

to

my

ears!

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:20:59

    Aww! That is PRECIOUS! Love, love, love it!

    Reply

  2. charlywalker
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 23:49:39

    Loved it!

    Reply

  3. Carissa
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:40:58

    I LOVE this poem!!!!! Well done!

    Reply

  4. souldipper
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:28:13

    Mother used to gather my sibs and me into a huddle during a thunderstorm so she could get us to count with her. The seconds between lightning and thunder told us how close the storm was. Never made any sense to me…the storm was always with us as far as I could see! :)
    In my mother’s 80s, she confessed that she was the frightened one. Not one of us kids were ever scared of storms. Her mission was accomplished, the clever woman.

    Reply

  5. Kate Hayes
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:15:22

    Very cute poem – I think your grandsons will love having that when they get older. Maybe it will bring back memories. :) And I have to say, I love a good summer storm too!

    Reply

  6. Judith
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 16:20:18

    My grandma also said it was the angels bowling. Amazing how people say the same things the world over.
    Love your poem.

    Reply

  7. Joss
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 15:31:49

    precious moments. Oh that we all had Gramma to call out to and be taken care of! Wonderful memories for you and the boys.

    Reply

  8. Far From Perfect MaMMa
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 14:19:07

    Fabulous. They are blessed to have a Gramma such as you! Poetry is NOT my forte…Thanks for stopping by! Returning the favor.

    Reply

  9. lindsay @ you are here
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:34:51

    Great poem!! My littlest still gets scared by “Tunder stoms”…
    My own Grandmother used to tell me it was the Angels bowling… and would wake me from a dead sleep by sprinkling holy water… so even if you were sleeping through the storm, no you weren’t LOL

    Reply

  10. Optimistic Mom
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:31:37

    Beautiful! I love the photo caption. ;)

    Reply

  11. Paulette
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:53:36

    love it =)

    Reply

  12. Exurban Cowgirl
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:09:49

    Nice poem! Have you read The Storm Book by Charlotte Zolotow to the boys? It’s one of our favorites…

    Reply

  13. iseeyoulookingatme
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:03:59

    Isn’t it wonderful that they trust you and count on you enough to call out to you when they are afraid. I’m glad the storm passed, and that you were there to try to make fun out of it.

    Reply

  14. Anita @ Mommy in Search of Me
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:46:57

    That was beautiful! It took me back to cuddling with my Grandma in a storm although she was the one scared. :)

    Reply

  15. Andrea
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:42:25

    Good job Gramma!

    Reply

  16. kristi
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:20:32

    hi! i’m visiting from mama kat’s…

    love the poem! so very sweet :) and close to my heart. i was there too the other night. nothing like comforting little ones in the midst of a thunderstorm.

    Reply

  17. Raine
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:16:25

    What a sweet poem! Too cute!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 314 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

