If You Really Knew Me…I Took an Old Friend Down Tonight

Flurries fly but I persist in believing spring is here!

It’s Thursday and time for Mama’s Losin It Writing Prompts. My choice is – If you really knew me, you would know that…..

You would know that I get hooked on books. Or more accurately hooked on words. That leads to a lot of rereading of phrases, paragraphs or the whole book. I think I may have an addictive personality.

Any way the old friend I took down was not someone I demolished in any way as the title suggested, but an old book I pull down from the shelf  now and then.

One of my addictions from about twenty odd years ago is Dean Koontz. The book tonight is a fav and it was published way back in ’88 called Lightning.
This book not for it’s first line but for the gripping tale he tells. Good suspense although the first line is pretty good.

I mention first lines because I am a sucker for them. Charles Dickens, my absolute hero was best at it. Who could forget the first line in …A Tale of Two Cities….”It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch …”

Of course that story also had the most memorable last line also…”It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a …”

But for me and Mr. Koontz possibly, the best first line was in a book called Winter Moon and the line is… “Death was driving an emerald green Lexus.”

In my dreams that’s the way I want to start a book. With a line so gripping you have no choice but to dive in filled with excitement and anticipation. (Anticipation is another addiction). sigh…soon I will have no secrets from you!

Oh and just for your information I do tend to fall for any good line – but that would be another blog!

Any favorite line out there you would like to share?
 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Paulson Author
    May 29, 2011 @ 12:13:34

    I love Dean Koontz…I have read several of his, not sure which ones. I guess It’s time to re read those. When I moved last year I had a huge collection of his and had to let it all go. I am building back my book shelf. I found an awesome site today called: http://www.yournextread.com/us/
    Congrats on your 100th post, and for keeping up. I admire you. Your fan Jackie

    Reply

    • bridgesburning
      May 30, 2011 @ 15:51:51

      Ihave had fun with my collections. When I moved to Texas I gave what I had in books away. Then when I moved back did the same thing. And started all over again buying them up!

      Reply

  2. charlywalker
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 14:17:55

    They call me Ishmael…… whale of a story!

    spread the humor.

    Reply

  3. Frelle
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 08:53:09

    glad to stop by on the linkup and learn more about you!

    Reply

  4. susanthecoach
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 06:02:11

    I love Dean Koonntz! I love how his bad guys are so way beyond bad and the good guys are just wonderful, and the bad guys always get their comeuppance and there’s always a lovely dog in there somewhere. Only problem is I can only buy his books if I have time because once I’ve started I’m not going anywhere until its finished!

    Reply

  5. eof737
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 04:16:42

    I love that Lexus line… Oops! I am late for the Writer’s post again… Will see if I can churn something out tonight. Glad to meet another Mamakat Writer! :-)
    Eliz

    Reply

  6. judithhb
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 01:34:15

    Forgot to say the book was first published in1851 and my husband obviously paid eight shillings and six pence for it.

    Reply

  7. judithhb
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 01:33:08

    Hi again Chris. With nothing better to do I picked up a very old copy of Mayhew’s London. A book my husband had for ages and one I cant bear to let go.

    Anyway the opening line is – Of the thousand millions of human beings that are said to constitute the population of the entire globe, there are – socially, morally, and perhaps even physically considered – but two distinct and broadly marked races, viz., the wanderers and the settlers – the vagabond and the citizen – the nomadic and the civilized tribes.

    Well having read just the first sentence (52 words) I am exhausted and have to go and have a lie down (with the book) and get another glass of wine.

    Reply

  8. Tracy
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 22:59:21

    Eat Food. Not Too Much. Mostly Plants.

    Opening of Michael Pollan’s “In Defense of Food.” For some reason, I never forgot that opening. I’ll be giving away a book on my blog tomorrow, so be sure to enter if you love books!

    Reply

  9. Jen
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 11:11:50

    I used to read Dean Koontz all the time, not sure why I stopped. Thanks for reminding me to read him again!

    Reply

  10. Kieran Hamilton
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 06:05:49

    “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others” – Animal Farm by George Orwell.

    No exactly a gripping or exciting line, but it’s one of my favourites because of the meaning behind it and the relevance it had when the book was written and also the relevance it still holds today. The book is one of my favourites just for it’s sheer simplicity, political satire at its best.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 314 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

