Twice in a Lifetime..not….

Twice in a Lifetime….not

I find myself pondering a question that at first thought seemed easy to answer.  Many years ago there was a Canadian TV show called Twice in a Lifetime.  There was a male angel, cute as a button, who would be present at the time of death.  The deceased always had some deficiency that put their soul in jeopardy and thanks to the angel, they would then get an opportunity to go back to one point in their life to change the outcome. Invariably the deceased would conquer and the end showed them in fact restored to life – as if they had stayed on a true and proper path.

In the last few years I periodically have asked people what point in their lives they would return to – to change something if given a chance.  One friend who had experienced the worst kind of abuse as a young child said she would never have answered the door that day when a knock came.    She didn’t hesitate for even a second.  We have been friends for years and I always forget that decades later she still lives with that.

Most people don’t have such painful turning points but most can think of some point where they took a left when they should have turned right. Maybe a failed exam, or turning point or turning down a particular appointment or date.

I don’t find myself as lucky.  Every time I think of a possible trigger changing event my mind considers all the fallout effects about other good things that followed in spite of my errors in judgement.

There is no one point where I would change the course of my life. Instead there are multiple truths I ignored at one time or another that I would like to go back and embrace when I did not:

Do unto others….
Save ten percent..
Onto thine own self…
Be quiet and listen…
Be the kind of friend…
Honor thy….

There may not be a true Twice in a Lifetime and  thank God for that..instead each day is new and when we open our eyes we have a chance to do it better than the day before…or the year before..or…
For some of us it is baby steps cause just when I think I have conquered a mountain, I realize my biggest sin is congratulating myself for being so darn good..and I lose humility.  If I am not humble I am not seeing the scope of my own frailty, or the scope of God’s Greatness.

Nuts..then it is like…back to the beginning…sigh.

Do you have one pivotal point where you would have changed your course of action?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. accidentalstepmom
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 09:06:00

    I’ve come to believe that I wouldn’t change anything in my life if I could go back. I have a definite sense of everything that I went through, even every stupid thing that I have done, has served a purpose and has gotten me to this point on this path, being the person that I am now. This is what I tell myself when I have to make amends today for something stupid that I did :-)

    Reply

  2. mouliforever
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 12:55:32

    Amazing post. Everybody wish they had a rewind button in their life. I do too. There are so many instances in my life when I have felt that if I could just rewind and I would have done it differently. Accepting what it as it is is the most diffiult part. I wish I get the twice in lifetime someday and I don’t have an instance to back and correct.

    Reply

  3. merrilymarylee
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 12:07:10

    Now this is going to drive me crazy trying to remember the American show similar to this.

    I am a second guesser of myself to the highest order. If I think of all the things I’d do over, I’ll be awake all night–and then I’ll second guess my list! Best not to go there.

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts on this!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

Archives

blogsurfer.us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

